SponsoredVisit FxPro
100 brokers measured in South Africabroker data checked 27.08.2026
IG Markets SA logoIG Markets SAIG Markets South Africa Limited

IG Markets SA in South Africa — review, licence and costs

Written and checked by the Lantern Review editorial team · how we score ·  score recalculated 01.10.2026
yesAccepts residents of South AfricaOpened by IG Markets SA (South Africa) (Pty) Ltd, FSCA licence 41393, register checked 11.07.2026

Score (5 of 6 axes scored)

4.282.0–5.0

shown, not ranked: no reviews

  • Round-turn cost20%87.5
  • Safety20%90
  • Payouts15%40
  • Track record10%100
  • Platforms10%55

Numbered by weight: axis 1 counts for most.

2 + 3 × 0.760 = 4.28 · axes on 0–100, total on 2.0–5.0

Key facts

Licence check

FSCA authorised FSP No. 41393; authorised over-the-counter derivative provider (ODP)
41393
Active on registerchecked 11.07.2026fsca.co.za
Open an account with IG Markets SA

The broker's own website. Not a partner link — we earn nothing from it.

Screenshot of the IG Markets SA website
IG Markets SA's own site, captured for this review (07.10.2026)

Who actually onboards you

Entity that onboards South Africa residents
IG Markets South Africa Limited
Local standing
FSCA-regulated domestic (leveraged CFD/forex). NOTE: IG Markets SA is winding down new local trading accounts; new applications routed to IG International.
Licence as the register states it
FSCA authorised FSP No. 41393; authorised over-the-counter derivative provider (ODP)
Leverage for this entity
Leveraged CFDs: default ~1:30 forex, ~1:20 indices/commodities, ~1:5 shares (retail defaults)
The firm behind it
South African arm of IG Group (global CFD/forex broker, LSE-listed parent); FSCA-authorised ODP
What we hold against it
not verified at review (note operational change: SA retail trading accounts being discontinued, migrating to IG International)

Leverage by entity

The licence belongs to the firm; a leverage figure belongs to one entity. Only the entity that onboards South African residents enters the score.

The entity that onboards youIG Markets South Africa LimitedLocal or offshore not stated in the source · FSCA licence 41393
1:30ZA
South Africa median, local entities: 1:50 · 18 of 20 statedApplies to you

Scale from 1:10 to 1:3000, logarithmic.

Client protection

  • Local entity onboards youFSCA-regulated domestic (leveraged CFD/forex). NOTE: IG Markets SA is winding down new local trading accounts; new applications routed to IG International.
  • Regulator warning on filenone found

— means the broker does not state it in any source we captured. It is not read as “no protection” and it is not scored.

Price against South Africa market median(priced from 80 of 103)

Round turn, 1 lot EURUSD, spread plus commission, USD
IG Markets SA, standard spread7.5
South Africa median, all 80 priced7
South Africa median, the 22 priced on the standard spread9.5

Medians run over the 80 of 103 brokers that publish a price for South Africa, never over the whole base. A spread without its commission is not a price and is not counted.

Accounts

Account types the broker names for this country: CFD Trading Account, IG Professional Account (min deposit ~R4, 000), demo. NOTE: new local trading accounts being discontinued, existing international/offshore accounts unaffected. The figures below are the broker's own and do not differ by account in any source we captured.

Swap-free account terms

Terms read from the account page on 01.10.2026. The cap on open positions is not published.

Where IG Markets SA sits in the South Africa base(103 brokers)

Round-turn cost, USD (80 of 103 priced)

14<5
5010
915
620
125
030
0>30

Median 7 USD · range 1-20 · this broker 7.5 USD · 23 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Minimum deposit, USD (49 of 103 priced)

42<200
5400
1600
0800
1>800

Median 50 USD · range 0-1000 · this broker 50 USD · 54 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Retail leverage (72 of 103 with a South Africa figure)

49<1k
142k
43k
44k
1>4k

Median 1:500 · range 20-5000 · this broker 1:30 · 31 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Withdrawal time published (103 brokers)

6of 100
Published, hours6not published38IG Markets SA is one of the 6

Payouts

Identical for every row: Deposit, h 24 · Fee, USD 0 · Min, USD 50.

Deposit and withdrawal methods (3 methods · 1 local)

EFT / bank transfer, debit/credit card;

  • EFTlocal
  • Bank transfer
  • Credit card
Account currency
ZAR
Fee declared
3 of 3 methods
Withdrawal back to
the funding method

Where it does not serve(3 countries)

North KoreaIranMyanmar

From the client agreement, clause 2.3. A country missing from a translated page is not read as “served”.

Platforms and markets(7 platforms)

The platform page on the IG Markets SA website
The platform page on IG Markets SA's own site, captured for this review (07.10.2026)
  • IG proprietary web platform & app
  • MT4
  • ProRealTime
ClassCountMin spread
IG proprietary web platform & app—0.75
MT4—0.75
ProRealTime—0.75
Forex pairs80—
Indices80—
Commodities35—
Crypto10—

184 further account types are named by their brokers but publish none of these figures, so they are not in the comparison: IC Markets Raw Spread MT4/MT5, IC Markets Raw Spread cTrader, Eightcap Standard, Eightcap Raw, Fusion Markets Classic account, Pepperstone Standard and 178 more.

Identical for every row: Leverage 30 ZA.

Reviews(1 platform · 25% of the score)

4.4/ 5
Trustpilot rating
5
reviews
02.10.2026
snapshot, 2026
SnapshotRatingReviews
02.10.20264.45

Share of reviewers in South Africa: — The platform does not publish it.

Pros and cons(3 for and 4 against, each tied to a figure on this page)

For
  • Locally authorised, licence 41393, read on 11.07.2026
  • Track record 100 of 100, its strongest of 5 scored axes
  • 3 platforms: IG proprietary web platform & app, MT4, ProRealTime
Against
  • Round turn 7.5 USD on the standard basis, over the South Africa median 7
  • Withdrawal in 72 h, over the South Africa median 24
  • Payouts 40 of 100, its weakest of 5 scored axes
  • Not scored on reviews: the broker publishes no figure we could read

Alternatives in South Africa(6 of 103 scored in South Africa)

4.13
IG Markets
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
13.6ZA
Min deposit, USD
50ZA
Leverage
20ZA
Rank in this country
#19
4.37
ACY Securities
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
6ZA
Min deposit, USD
50 groupZA
Leverage
500 group
Rank in this country
#4
4.13
Markets.com
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
6ZA
Min deposit, USD
100ZA
Leverage
300ZA
Rank in this country
#20
4.48
Capital.com
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
6ZA
Min deposit, USD
20ZA
Leverage
30 group
Rank in this country
#2
4.24
CMTrading
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
8ZA
Min deposit, USD
300ZA
Leverage
200ZA
Rank in this country
#12
4.14
Grand Capital
Licensed elsewhere
Round turn, USD
5ZA
Min deposit, USD
10ZA
Leverage
500ZA
Rank in this country
#17

"group" marks a figure the broker publishes for the group rather than for this country. It is shown because the broker states it, and it is not ranked, averaged or used to sort.

Methodology(6 axes · formula v1.0)

Score = 2 + 3 × weighted mean of six axes scored 0–100. Range 2.0–5.0. An axis without data drops out and the remaining weights are renormalised; it is never scored zero or estimated. Group-wide figures never enter a South Africa score. Full methodology

AxisWeightWhat is measuredIG Markets SA
Reviews25%Rating, volume and recency on one public review platform—
Round-turn cost20%Round turn on 1 lot EURUSD: spread plus commission, against the country median88
Safety20%Local authorisation, the entity that onboards you, any regulator warning90
Payouts15%Published withdrawal time, fees and the methods available in the country40
Track record10%Years since the firm was founded, from its own filings100
Platforms10%Which trading platforms the broker confirms for this country55

FAQ

Does IG Markets SA accept residents of South Africa?
Yes. FSCA-regulated domestic (leveraged CFD/forex). NOTE: IG Markets SA is winding down new local trading accounts; new applications routed to IG International. Onboarding entity: IG Markets South Africa Limited
Is IG Markets SA licensed to serve clients in South Africa?
FSCA authorised FSP No. 41393; authorised over-the-counter derivative provider (ODP) Checked on 11.07.2026.
How much does one round turn cost at IG Markets SA?
About 7.5 USD per standard lot on EUR/USD. The median across brokers measured for South Africa is 7.0 USD.
What leverage does IG Markets SA offer to retail clients in South Africa?
Up to 1:30. Leveraged CFDs: default ~1:30 forex, ~1:20 indices/commodities, ~1:5 shares (retail defaults)
Which trading platforms does IG Markets SA support?
IG proprietary web platform & app, MT4, ProRealTime. Instruments: 17,000+ markets: forex, indices, shares/share CFDs, commodities, ETFs, cryptocurrencies, options, interest rates
How can I withdraw money from IG Markets SA in South Africa?
EFT / bank transfer, debit/credit card; specifics not verified at review
What account types does IG Markets SA offer?
CFD Trading Account, IG Professional Account (min deposit ~R4,000); demo. NOTE: new local trading accounts being discontinued, existing international/offshore accounts unaffected.

Taxes for a South African resident(1 rule)

  • SARS taxes residents on worldwide income.https://www.ig.com/za

Not tax advice. Check with SARS.

Verified · Sources

Verified01.10.2026
next review 01.01.2027