SponsoredVisit FxPro
100 brokers measured in South Africabroker data checked 27.08.2026
IG Markets logoIG MarketsIG Markets South Africa Ltd

IG Markets in South Africa — review, licence and costs

Written and checked by the Lantern Review editorial team · how we score ·  score recalculated 01.10.2026
yesAccepts residents of South AfricaOpened by IG Markets (South Africa) (Pty) Ltd, FSCA licence 41393, register checked 09.07.2026

Score (6 of 6 axes scored)

4.132.0–5.0

ranked against full-basis brokers

  • Reviews25%80
  • Round-turn cost20%57
  • Safety20%90
  • Payouts15%40
  • Track record10%100
  • Platforms10%55

Numbered by weight: axis 1 counts for most.

2 + 3 × 0.710 = 4.13 · axes on 0–100, total on 2.0–5.0

Key facts

Licence check

FSCA-authorised FSP No. 41393 (ODP licence denied; IG appealing per 2024-25 reports).
41393
Active on registerchecked 09.07.2026fsca.co.za
Open an account with IG Markets

The broker's own website. Not a partner link — we earn nothing from it.

Screenshot of the IG Markets website
IG Markets's own site, captured for this review (07.10.2026)

Who actually onboards you

Entity that onboards South Africa residents
IG Markets South Africa Ltd
Local standing
Locally FSCA-authorised entity exists, but new-client onboarding shifted offshore amid ODP-licence dispute — verify current status before opening.
Licence as the register states it
FSCA-authorised FSP No. 41393 (ODP licence denied; IG appealing per 2024-25 reports).
Leverage for this entity
Local FSCA offering historically higher than EU caps; offshore up to ~1:200.
The firm behind it
IG Group, LSE-listed (FTSE 250), founded 1974; IGMSA established 2010.
What we hold against it
Locally licensed (FSP 41393) and reputable, but ODP-licence denial/appeal and onboarding shift create current-status uncertainty.

Leverage by entity

The licence belongs to the firm; a leverage figure belongs to one entity. Only the entity that onboards South African residents enters the score.

The entity that onboards youIG Markets South Africa LtdLocal or offshore not stated in the source · FSCA licence 41393
1:20ZA
South Africa median, local entities: 1:50 · 18 of 20 statedApplies to you

Scale from 1:10 to 1:3000, logarithmic.

Client protection

  • Local entity onboards youLocally FSCA-authorised entity exists, but new-client onboarding shifted offshore amid ODP-licence dispute — verify current status before opening.
  • Regulator warning on filenone found

— means the broker does not state it in any source we captured. It is not read as “no protection” and it is not scored.

Price against South Africa market median(priced from 80 of 103)

Round turn, 1 lot EURUSD, spread plus commission, USD
IG Markets, raw spread plus commission13.6
South Africa median, all 80 priced7
South Africa median, the 58 priced on the raw spread plus commission6.75

Medians run over the 80 of 103 brokers that publish a price for South Africa, never over the whole base. A spread without its commission is not a price and is not counted.

Accounts

Account types the broker names for this country: CFD/share dealing, retail. Min bank transfer ~$0, card ~$300. The figures below are the broker's own and do not differ by account in any source we captured.

Swap-free account terms

Terms read from the account page on 01.10.2026. The cap on open positions is not published.

Where IG Markets sits in the South Africa base(103 brokers)

Round-turn cost, USD (80 of 103 priced)

14<5
5010
915
620
125
030
0>30

Median 7 USD · range 1-20 · this broker 13.6 USD · 23 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Minimum deposit, USD (49 of 103 priced)

42<200
5400
1600
0800
1>800

Median 50 USD · range 0-1000 · this broker 50 USD · 54 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Retail leverage (72 of 103 with a South Africa figure)

49<1k
142k
43k
44k
1>4k

Median 1:500 · range 20-5000 · this broker 1:20 · 31 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Withdrawal time published (103 brokers)

6of 100
Published, hours6not published38IG Markets is one of the 6

Payouts

Identical for every row: Deposit, h 24 · Fee, USD 0 · Min, USD 50.

Deposit and withdrawal methods (3 methods · 0 local rails)

Cards, bank transfer, PayPal.

  • Cards
  • Bank transfer
  • PayPal
Account currency
USD, GBP, EUR; ZAR not confirmed.
Fee declared
3 of 3 methods
Withdrawal back to
the funding method

Where it does not serve(14 countries)

United StatesCanadaJapanNorth KoreaIranSyriaRussiaIraqAfghanistanYemenCubaMyanmarSudanLibya

From the client agreement, clause 2.3. A country missing from a translated page is not read as “served”.

Platforms and markets(6 platforms)

The platform page on the IG Markets website
The platform page on IG Markets's own site, captured for this review (07.10.2026)
  • IG web/app
  • ProRealTime
  • L2 Dealer
  • MT4
  • TradingView
ClassCountMin spread
IG web/app—0.6
ProRealTime—0.6
L2 Dealer—0.6
MT4—0.6
TradingView—0.6
All instruments17000—

184 further account types are named by their brokers but publish none of these figures, so they are not in the comparison: IC Markets Raw Spread MT4/MT5, IC Markets Raw Spread cTrader, Eightcap Standard, Eightcap Raw, Fusion Markets Classic account, Pepperstone Standard and 178 more.

Identical for every row: Leverage 20 ZA.

Reviews(1 platform · 25% of the score)

4.6/ 5
Trustpilot rating
—
reviews
02.10.2026
snapshot, 2026
SnapshotRatingReviews
02.10.20264.6—

Share of reviewers in South Africa: — The platform does not publish it.

Pros and cons(3 for and 4 against, each tied to a figure on this page)

For
  • Locally authorised, licence 41393, read on 09.07.2026
  • Track record 100 of 100, its strongest of 6 scored axes
  • 5 platforms: IG web/app, ProRealTime, L2 Dealer, MT4
Against
  • Round turn 13.6 USD on the raw + commission basis, over the South Africa median 7
  • A regulator warning is on file against this broker
  • Withdrawal in 72 h, over the South Africa median 24
  • Payouts 40 of 100, its weakest of 6 scored axes

Alternatives in South Africa(6 of 103 scored in South Africa)

3.82
ATFX
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
12ZA
Min deposit, USD
500 groupZA
Leverage
400ZA
Rank in this country
#39
4.28
ThinkMarkets
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
7ZA
Min deposit, USD
50ZA
Leverage
500ZA
Rank in this country
#8
4.13
Markets.com
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
6ZA
Min deposit, USD
100ZA
Leverage
300ZA
Rank in this country
#20
4.48
Capital.com
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
6ZA
Min deposit, USD
20ZA
Leverage
30 group
Rank in this country
#2
3.68
MultiBank Group
Licensed elsewhere
Round turn, USD
15ZA
Min deposit, USD
50 groupZA
Leverage
500ZA
Rank in this country
#50
4.14
Grand Capital
Licensed elsewhere
Round turn, USD
5ZA
Min deposit, USD
10ZA
Leverage
500ZA
Rank in this country
#17

"group" marks a figure the broker publishes for the group rather than for this country. It is shown because the broker states it, and it is not ranked, averaged or used to sort.

Methodology(6 axes · formula v1.0)

Score = 2 + 3 × weighted mean of six axes scored 0–100. Range 2.0–5.0. An axis without data drops out and the remaining weights are renormalised; it is never scored zero or estimated. Group-wide figures never enter a South Africa score. Full methodology

AxisWeightWhat is measuredIG Markets
Reviews25%Rating, volume and recency on one public review platform80
Round-turn cost20%Round turn on 1 lot EURUSD: spread plus commission, against the country median57
Safety20%Local authorisation, the entity that onboards you, any regulator warning90
Payouts15%Published withdrawal time, fees and the methods available in the country40
Track record10%Years since the firm was founded, from its own filings100
Platforms10%Which trading platforms the broker confirms for this country55

FAQ

Does IG Markets accept residents of South Africa?
Yes. Locally FSCA-authorised entity exists, but new-client onboarding shifted offshore amid ODP-licence dispute — verify current status before opening. Onboarding entity: IG Markets South Africa Ltd
Is IG Markets licensed to serve clients in South Africa?
FSCA-authorised FSP No. 41393 (ODP licence denied; IG appealing per 2024-25 reports). Checked on 09.07.2026.
How much does one round turn cost at IG Markets?
About 13.6 USD per standard lot on EUR/USD. The median across brokers measured for South Africa is 7.0 USD.
What leverage does IG Markets offer to retail clients in South Africa?
Up to 1:20. FTSE 100 ... Retail ... Leverage equivalent ... 1:20
Which trading platforms does IG Markets support?
IG web/app, ProRealTime, L2 Dealer, MT4, TradingView. Instruments: 17,000+ markets: FX, indices, shares, commodities.
How can I withdraw money from IG Markets in South Africa?
Cards, bank transfer, PayPal.
What account types does IG Markets offer?
CFD/share dealing; retail. Min bank transfer ~$0, card ~$300.

Taxes for a South African resident(1 rule)

  • SARS taxes residents on worldwide income.https://ig.com/za

Not tax advice. Check with SARS.

Verified · Sources

Verified01.10.2026
next review 01.01.2027
Sources · precision