SponsoredVisit FxPro
100 brokers measured in South Africabroker data checked 27.08.2026
CMTrading logoCMTradingGCMT South Africa (Pty) Ltd; FSCA licence carried via Blackstone Marketing SA (Pty) Ltd. Home market.

CMTrading in South Africa — review, licence and costs

Written and checked by the Lantern Review editorial team · how we score ·  score recalculated 01.10.2026
yesAccepts residents of South AfricaOpened by CMTrading (South Africa) (Pty) Ltd, FSCA licence 38782, register checked 09.07.2026

Score (6 of 6 axes scored)

4.242.0–5.0

ranked against full-basis brokers

  • Reviews25%65
  • Round-turn cost20%85
  • Safety20%100
  • Payouts15%80
  • Track record10%70
  • Platforms10%25

Numbered by weight: axis 1 counts for most.

2 + 3 × 0.747 = 4.24 · axes on 0–100, total on 2.0–5.0

Key facts (6 facts)

Onboarding entity
GCMT South Africa (Pty) Ltd; FSCA licence carried via Blackstone Marketing SA (Pty) Ltd. Home market.
Founded
2012
Retail leverage
200ZA
Round turn
8 USDZA
Currencies
USD/EUR/ZAR (USD primary).
Swap-free account
yes

Licence check

FSCA FSP No. 38782 (locally authorised); parent GCMT Limited also FSA Seychelles SD070.
38782
Active on registerchecked 09.07.2026fsca.co.za
Open an account with CMTrading

The broker's own website. Not a partner link — we earn nothing from it.

Screenshot of the CMTrading website
CMTrading's own site, captured for this review (06.10.2026)

Who actually onboards you

Entity that onboards South Africa residents
GCMT South Africa (Pty) Ltd; FSCA licence carried via Blackstone Marketing SA (Pty) Ltd. Home market.
Local standing
Locally FSCA-regulated — genuine domestic licence, strongest of the four geos.
Licence as the register states it
FSCA FSP No. 38782 (locally authorised); parent GCMT Limited also FSA Seychelles SD070.
Leverage for this entity
Up to 1:200.
The firm behind it
Global Capital Markets Trading; founded 2012, Johannesburg; Seychelles holding GCMT Limited; strong Africa focus and copy-trading.
What we hold against it
FLAG: FSCA(ZA)-regulated locally, but group also runs offshore FSA Seychelles entity for non-ZA clients.

Leverage by entity

The licence belongs to the firm; a leverage figure belongs to one entity. Only the entity that onboards South African residents enters the score.

The entity that onboards youGCMT South Africa (Pty) Ltd; FSCA licence carried via Blackstone Marketing SA (Pty) Ltd. Home market.Local or offshore not stated in the source · FSCA licence 38782
1:200ZA
South Africa median, local entities: 1:50 · 18 of 20 statedApplies to you

Scale from 1:10 to 1:3000, logarithmic.

Client protection

  • Local entity onboards youLocally FSCA-regulated — genuine domestic licence, strongest of the four geos.
  • Regulator warning on filenone found

— means the broker does not state it in any source we captured. It is not read as “no protection” and it is not scored.

Price against South Africa market median(priced from 80 of 103)

Round turn, 1 lot EURUSD, spread plus commission, USD
CMTrading, raw spread plus commission8
South Africa median, all 80 priced7
South Africa median, the 58 priced on the raw spread plus commission6.75

Medians run over the 80 of 103 brokers that publish a price for South Africa, never over the whole base. A spread without its commission is not a price and is not counted.

Accounts

Account types the broker names for this country: Basic/Silver/Gold/Premium/VIP tiers, entry min ~USD 300 (Basic). The figures below are the broker's own and do not differ by account in any source we captured.

Swap-free account terms

Terms read from the account page on 01.10.2026. The cap on open positions is not published.

Where CMTrading sits in the South Africa base(103 brokers)

Round-turn cost, USD (80 of 103 priced)

14<5
5010
915
620
125
030
0>30

Median 7 USD · range 1-20 · this broker 8 USD · 23 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Minimum deposit, USD (49 of 103 priced)

42<200
5400
1600
0800
1>800

Median 50 USD · range 0-1000 · this broker 300 USD · 54 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Retail leverage (72 of 103 with a South Africa figure)

49<1k
142k
43k
44k
1>4k

Median 1:500 · range 20-5000 · this broker 1:200 · 31 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Withdrawal time published (103 brokers)

6of 100
Published, hours6not published38CMTrading is one of the 6

Payouts

Identical for every row: Deposit, h 24 · Fee, USD 0 · Min, USD 50.

Deposit and withdrawal methods (4 methods · 1 local)

Cards, bank/EFT transfer, Skrill, Neteller.

  • Cards
  • EFT transferlocal
  • Skrill
  • Neteller
Account currency
USD/EUR/ZAR (USD primary).
Fee declared
4 of 4 methods
Withdrawal back to
the funding method

Where it does not serve(5 countries)

United StatesNorth KoreaIranSyriaEU member states

From the client agreement, clause 2.3. A country missing from a translated page is not read as “served”.

Platforms and markets(9 platforms)

The platform page on the CMTrading website
The platform page on CMTrading's own site, captured for this review (06.10.2026)
  • MT4
  • WebTrader
  • mobile app
  • Sirix/copy-trading
ClassCountMin spread
MT4—1.5
WebTrader—1.5
mobile app—1.5
Sirix/copy-trading—1.5
Forex pairs51—
Shares73—
Indices16—
Commodities15—
Crypto21—

184 further account types are named by their brokers but publish none of these figures, so they are not in the comparison: IC Markets Raw Spread MT4/MT5, IC Markets Raw Spread cTrader, Eightcap Standard, Eightcap Raw, Fusion Markets Classic account, Pepperstone Standard and 178 more.

Identical for every row: Leverage 200 ZA.

Reviews(1 platform · 25% of the score)

4.3/ 5
Trustpilot rating
1,260
reviews
02.10.2026
snapshot, 2026
SnapshotRatingReviews
02.10.20264.31,260

Share of reviewers in South Africa: — The platform does not publish it.

Pros and cons(5 for and 3 against, each tied to a figure on this page)

For
  • Locally authorised, licence 38782, read on 09.07.2026
  • Withdrawal in 24 h, one of 86 of 103 brokers here that publish a time
  • Swap-free account available
  • Safety 100 of 100, its strongest of 6 scored axes
  • 4 platforms: MT4, WebTrader, mobile app, Sirix/copy-trading
Against
  • Round turn 8 USD on the raw + commission basis, over the South Africa median 7
  • Min deposit 300 USD, over the South Africa median 50
  • Platforms 25 of 100, its weakest of 6 scored axes

Alternatives in South Africa(6 of 103 scored in South Africa)

4.48
Capital.com
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
6ZA
Min deposit, USD
20ZA
Leverage
30 group
Rank in this country
#2
4.13
Markets.com
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
6ZA
Min deposit, USD
100ZA
Leverage
300ZA
Rank in this country
#20
4.27
AvaTrade
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
9ZA
Min deposit, USD
100ZA
Leverage
400ZA
Rank in this country
#9
3.82
ATFX
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
12ZA
Min deposit, USD
500 groupZA
Leverage
400ZA
Rank in this country
#39
4.46
HFM
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
6ZA
Min deposit, USD
0 groupZA
Leverage
2000ZA
Rank in this country
#3
3.92
BlackBull Markets
Licensed elsewhere
Round turn, USD
6ZA
Min deposit, USD
0ZA
Leverage
500ZA
Rank in this country
#34

"group" marks a figure the broker publishes for the group rather than for this country. It is shown because the broker states it, and it is not ranked, averaged or used to sort.

Methodology(6 axes · formula v1.0)

Score = 2 + 3 × weighted mean of six axes scored 0–100. Range 2.0–5.0. An axis without data drops out and the remaining weights are renormalised; it is never scored zero or estimated. Group-wide figures never enter a South Africa score. Full methodology

AxisWeightWhat is measuredCMTrading
Reviews25%Rating, volume and recency on one public review platform65
Round-turn cost20%Round turn on 1 lot EURUSD: spread plus commission, against the country median85
Safety20%Local authorisation, the entity that onboards you, any regulator warning100
Payouts15%Published withdrawal time, fees and the methods available in the country80
Track record10%Years since the firm was founded, from its own filings70
Platforms10%Which trading platforms the broker confirms for this country25

FAQ

Does CMTrading accept residents of South Africa?
Yes. Locally FSCA-regulated — genuine domestic licence, strongest of the four geos. Onboarding entity: GCMT South Africa (Pty) Ltd; FSCA licence carried via Blackstone Marketing SA (Pty) Ltd. Home market.
Is CMTrading licensed to serve clients in South Africa?
FSCA FSP No. 38782 (locally authorised); parent GCMT Limited also FSA Seychelles SD070. Checked on 09.07.2026.
How much does one round turn cost at CMTrading?
About 8.0 USD per standard lot on EUR/USD. The median across brokers measured for South Africa is 7.0 USD.
What leverage does CMTrading offer to retail clients in South Africa?
Up to 1:200. leverageGeo: Up to 1:200.
Which trading platforms does CMTrading support?
MT4, WebTrader, mobile app, Sirix/copy-trading. Instruments: FX, indices, commodities, shares, crypto CFDs.
How can I withdraw money from CMTrading in South Africa?
Cards, bank/EFT transfer, Skrill, Neteller.
What account types does CMTrading offer?
Basic/Silver/Gold/Premium/VIP tiers; entry min ~USD 300 (Basic).
Does CMTrading offer a swap-free (Islamic) account?
Yes. CMTrading offers a swap-free (Islamic) account to South Africa residents.

Taxes for a South African resident(1 rule)

  • SARS taxes residents on worldwide income.https://cmtrading.com/where-is-cmtrading-authorized

Not tax advice. Check with SARS.

Verified · Sources

Verified01.10.2026
next review 01.01.2027