SponsoredVisit FxPro
100 brokers measured in South Africabroker data checked 27.08.2026
Shyft (Standard Bank Shyft) logoShyft (Standard Bank Shyft)The Standard Bank of South Africa Ltd

Shyft (Standard Bank Shyft) in South Africa — review, licence and costs

Written and checked by the Lantern Review editorial team · how we score ·  score recalculated 01.10.2026
yesAccepts residents of South AfricaOpened by Shyft (Standard Bank Shyft) (South Africa) (Pty) Ltd, FSCA licence 11287, register checked 11.07.2026

Score (4 of 6 axes scored)

3.132.0–5.0

shown, not ranked: no cost

  • Reviews25%0
  • Safety20%100
  • Track record10%45
  • Platforms10%0

Numbered by weight: axis 1 counts for most.

2 + 3 × 0.377 = 3.13 · axes on 0–100, total on 2.0–5.0

Key facts (4 facts)

Onboarding entity
The Standard Bank of South Africa Ltd
Founded
2017
Currencies
ZAR (funding); wallets in USD/GBP/EUR/AUD etc; US shares USD-denominated
Swap-free account
no

Licence check

Operates under The Standard Bank of South Africa Ltd licence, an FSCA-authorised FSP No. 11287; share-trading executed via SBG Securities (JSE member, FSP 26691)
11287
Active on registerchecked 11.07.2026fsca.co.za
Open an account with Shyft (Standard Bank Shyft)

The broker's own website. Not a partner link — we earn nothing from it.

Screenshot of the Shyft (Standard Bank Shyft) website
Shyft (Standard Bank Shyft)'s own site, captured for this review (07.10.2026)

Who actually onboards you

Entity that onboards South Africa residents
The Standard Bank of South Africa Ltd
Local standing
FSCA-regulated domestic (Standard Bank / SBG Securities)
Licence as the register states it
Operates under The Standard Bank of South Africa Ltd licence, an FSCA-authorised FSP No. 11287; share-trading executed via SBG Securities (JSE member, FSP 26691)
Leverage for this entity
No retail forex CFDs; Shyft provides forex wallets/currency exchange (physical FX, not leveraged trading) and unleveraged US shares/ETFs investing
The firm behind it
Award-winning global money/forex app by Standard Bank (launched 2016). Provides multi-currency wallets and offshore US-share investing; Standard Bank consolidating its retail online share-trading platforms under Shyft.
What we hold against it
No FSCA enforcement action identified; generally well-rated FX app - not verified at review

Leverage by entity

The licence belongs to the firm; a leverage figure belongs to one entity. Only the entity that onboards South African residents enters the score.

The entity that onboards youThe Standard Bank of South Africa LtdLocal or offshore not stated in the source · FSCA licence

No retail forex CFDs; Shyft provides forex wallets/currency exchange (physical FX, not leveraged trading) and unleveraged US shares/ETFs investing

—ZA
South Africa median, local entities: 1:50 · 18 of 20 stated

Scale from 1:10 to 1:3000, logarithmic.

Client protection

  • Local entity onboards youFSCA-regulated domestic (Standard Bank / SBG Securities)
  • Regulator warning on filenone found

— means the broker does not state it in any source we captured. It is not read as “no protection” and it is not scored.

Accounts

Account types the broker names for this country: Multi-currency global wallet (USD/GBP/EUR/AUD, more), Shyft Shares investing account (ZAR-funded, USD-denominated US stocks/ETFs). The figures below are the broker's own and do not differ by account in any source we captured.

Swap-free account terms

Terms read from the account page on 01.10.2026. The cap on open positions is not published.

Where Shyft (Standard Bank Shyft) sits in the South Africa base(103 brokers)

Round-turn cost, USD (80 of 103 priced)

14<5
5010
915
620
125
030
0>30

Median 7 USD · range 1-20 · 23 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Minimum deposit, USD (49 of 103 priced)

42<200
5400
1600
0800
1>800

Median 50 USD · range 0-1000 · 54 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Retail leverage (72 of 103 with a South Africa figure)

49<1k
142k
43k
44k
1>4k

Median 1:500 · range 20-5000 · 31 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Withdrawal time published (103 brokers)

6of 100
Published, hours6not published38Shyft (Standard Bank Shyft) is one of the 6

Payouts(2 methods)

MethodDeposit, hFee, USDMin, USD
EFT24050
Card24050

Deposit and withdrawal methods (2 methods · 1 local)

EFT, transfer from Standard Bank / any SA bank account, card

  • EFTlocal
  • Card
Account currency
ZAR (funding); wallets in USD/GBP/EUR/AUD etc; US shares USD-denominated
Fee declared
2 of 2 methods
Withdrawal back to
the funding method

Where it does not serve(1 countries)

—

From the client agreement, clause 2.3. A country missing from a translated page is not read as “served”.

Platforms and markets(2 platforms)

The platform page on the Shyft (Standard Bank Shyft) website
The platform page on Shyft (Standard Bank Shyft)'s own site, captured for this review (06.10.2026)
  • Shyft global money app (iOS/Android)
ClassCountLeverage
Shyft global money app (iOS/Android)——ZA
All instruments15000—ZA

Pros and cons(2 for and 4 against, each tied to a figure on this page)

For
  • Locally authorised, licence 11287, read on 11.07.2026
  • Safety 100 of 100, its strongest of 4 scored axes
Against
  • Round-turn cost not priced: the pair of spread and commission is not published
  • Withdrawal time not published
  • Reviews 0 of 100, its weakest of 4 scored axes
  • Not scored on round-turn cost, payouts: the broker publishes no figure we could read

Alternatives in South Africa(6 of 103 scored in South Africa)

3.96
Khwezi Trade
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
4ZA
Min deposit, USD
50 groupZA
Leverage
400ZA
Rank in this country
#32
3.92
Scope Markets SA
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
9ZA
Min deposit, USD
100ZA
Leverage
1000ZA
Rank in this country
#35
4.48
Capital.com
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
6ZA
Min deposit, USD
20ZA
Leverage
30 group
Rank in this country
#2
4.36
FXGT
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
6ZA
Min deposit, USD
10ZA
Leverage
5000ZA
Rank in this country
#5
4.27
Tickmill
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
6ZA
Min deposit, USD
100ZA
Leverage
1000ZA
Rank in this country
#10
3.83
XTB
Licensed elsewhere
Round turn, USD
1ZA
Min deposit, USD
0ZA
Leverage
500ZA
Rank in this country
#38

"group" marks a figure the broker publishes for the group rather than for this country. It is shown because the broker states it, and it is not ranked, averaged or used to sort.

Methodology(6 axes · formula v1.0)

Score = 2 + 3 × weighted mean of six axes scored 0–100. Range 2.0–5.0. An axis without data drops out and the remaining weights are renormalised; it is never scored zero or estimated. Group-wide figures never enter a South Africa score. Full methodology

AxisWeightWhat is measuredShyft (Standard Bank Shyft)
Reviews25%Rating, volume and recency on one public review platform0
Round-turn cost20%Round turn on 1 lot EURUSD: spread plus commission, against the country median—
Safety20%Local authorisation, the entity that onboards you, any regulator warning100
Payouts15%Published withdrawal time, fees and the methods available in the country—
Track record10%Years since the firm was founded, from its own filings45
Platforms10%Which trading platforms the broker confirms for this country0

— the broker does not publish this figure; it is not read as a zero and it is not scored.

FAQ

Does Shyft (Standard Bank Shyft) accept residents of South Africa?
Yes. FSCA-regulated domestic (Standard Bank / SBG Securities) Onboarding entity: The Standard Bank of South Africa Ltd
Is Shyft (Standard Bank Shyft) licensed to serve clients in South Africa?
Operates under The Standard Bank of South Africa Ltd licence, an FSCA-authorised FSP No. 11287; share-trading executed via SBG Securities (JSE member, FSP 26691) Checked on 11.07.2026.
Which trading platforms does Shyft (Standard Bank Shyft) support?
Shyft global money app (iOS/Android). Instruments: Foreign-currency wallets (multi-currency), US stocks and ETFs (Shyft Shares), virtual/physical FX card; offshore investing with partners
How can I withdraw money from Shyft (Standard Bank Shyft) in South Africa?
EFT, transfer from Standard Bank / any SA bank account, card
What account types does Shyft (Standard Bank Shyft) offer?
Multi-currency global wallet (USD/GBP/EUR/AUD and more), Shyft Shares investing account (ZAR-funded, USD-denominated US stocks/ETFs)
Does Shyft (Standard Bank Shyft) offer a swap-free (Islamic) account?
No. Shyft (Standard Bank Shyft) publishes no swap-free (Islamic) account for South Africa.

Taxes for a South African resident(1 rule)

  • SARS taxes residents on worldwide income.https://www.shyft.co.za/

Not tax advice. Check with SARS.

Verified · Sources