SponsoredVisit FxPro
100 brokers measured in South Africabroker data checked 27.08.2026
Scope Markets SA logoScope Markets SAScope Markets SA (Pty) Ltd (reg 2016/137466/07), Sandton, Johannesburg

Scope Markets SA in South Africa — review, licence and costs

Written and checked by the Lantern Review editorial team · how we score ·  score recalculated 01.10.2026
yesAccepts residents of South AfricaOpened by Scope Markets SA (South Africa) (Pty) Ltd, register checked 11.07.2026

Score (6 of 6 axes scored)

3.922.0–5.0

ranked against full-basis brokers

  • Reviews25%70
  • Round-turn cost20%80
  • Safety20%90
  • Payouts15%0
  • Track record10%60
  • Platforms10%65

Numbered by weight: axis 1 counts for most.

2 + 3 × 0.640 = 3.92 · axes on 0–100, total on 2.0–5.0

Key facts

Licence check

FSCA FSP 47025; licensed Over-the-Counter Derivatives Provider ODP64
No licence number published for South Africachecked 11.07.2026fsca.co.za
Open an account with Scope Markets SA

The broker's own website. Not a partner link — we earn nothing from it.

Screenshot of the Scope Markets SA website
Scope Markets SA's own site, captured for this review (06.10.2026)

Who actually onboards you

Entity that onboards South Africa residents
Scope Markets SA (Pty) Ltd (reg 2016/137466/07), Sandton, Johannesburg
Local standing
FSCA-regulated domestic (FSP 47025, ODP64); part of multi-jurisdiction Scope Markets group (also IFSC Belize etc.)
Licence as the register states it
FSCA FSP 47025; licensed Over-the-Counter Derivatives Provider ODP64
Leverage for this entity
Leveraged forex/CFDs; group advertises up to 1:1000 via offshore entities - South African FSCA-regulated retail leverage generally lower/varies by instrument (confirm ZA-entity cap; do not assume 1:1000 for SA retail)
The firm behind it
South African entity of the international Scope Markets group; low-cost MT4/MT5-focused CFD/forex broker operating separately regulated entities across EU, Africa and offshore (Belize IFSC)
What we hold against it
Not verified at review (FSCA-licensed with ODP; group operates offshore entities - jurisdiction of client contracting matters for protections)

Leverage by entity

The licence belongs to the firm; a leverage figure belongs to one entity. Only the entity that onboards South African residents enters the score.

The entity that onboards youScope Markets SA (Pty) Ltd (reg 2016/137466/07), Sandton, JohannesburgLocal or offshore not stated in the source · FSCA licence —
1:1000ZA
South Africa median, local entities: 1:50 · 18 of 20 statedApplies to you

Scale from 1:10 to 1:3000, logarithmic.

Client protection

  • Local entity onboards youFSCA-regulated domestic (FSP 47025, ODP64); part of multi-jurisdiction Scope Markets group (also IFSC Belize etc.)
  • Regulator warning on filenone found

— means the broker does not state it in any source we captured. It is not read as “no protection” and it is not scored.

Price against South Africa market median(priced from 80 of 103)

Round turn, 1 lot EURUSD, spread plus commission, USD
Scope Markets SA, standard spread9
South Africa median, all 80 priced7
South Africa median, the 22 priced on the standard spread9.5

Medians run over the 80 of 103 brokers that publish a price for South Africa, never over the whole base. A spread without its commission is not a price and is not counted.

Accounts

Account types the broker names for this country: ZAR forex/CFD trading accounts (standard/low-cost tiers). The figures below are the broker's own and do not differ by account in any source we captured.

Swap-free account terms

Terms read from the account page on 01.10.2026. The cap on open positions is not published.

Where Scope Markets SA sits in the South Africa base(103 brokers)

Round-turn cost, USD (80 of 103 priced)

14<5
5010
915
620
125
030
0>30

Median 7 USD · range 1-20 · this broker 9 USD · 23 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Minimum deposit, USD (49 of 103 priced)

42<200
5400
1600
0800
1>800

Median 50 USD · range 0-1000 · this broker 100 USD · 54 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Retail leverage (72 of 103 with a South Africa figure)

49<1k
142k
43k
44k
1>4k

Median 1:500 · range 20-5000 · this broker 1:1000 · 31 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Withdrawal time published (103 brokers)

6of 100
Published, hours6not published38Scope Markets SA is one of the 6

Payouts

Identical for every row: Deposit, h 24 · Fee, USD 0 · Min, USD 50.

Deposit and withdrawal methods (4 methods · 2 local)

EFT / instant EFT;

  • EFTlocal
  • instant EFTlocal
  • Card
  • Bank transfer
Account currency
ZAR
Fee declared
4 of 4 methods
Withdrawal back to
the funding method

Where it does not serve(4 countries)

United StatesCanadaUnited KingdomAustralia

From the client agreement, clause 2.3. A country missing from a translated page is not read as “served”.

Platforms and markets(2 platforms)

The platform page on the Scope Markets SA website
The platform page on Scope Markets SA's own site, captured for this review (06.10.2026)
  • MetaTrader 4
  • MetaTrader 5
ClassMin spreadLeverage
MetaTrader 40.91000ZA
MetaTrader 50.91000ZA

184 further account types are named by their brokers but publish none of these figures, so they are not in the comparison: IC Markets Raw Spread MT4/MT5, IC Markets Raw Spread cTrader, Eightcap Standard, Eightcap Raw, Fusion Markets Classic account, Pepperstone Standard and 178 more.

Reviews(1 platform · 25% of the score)

4.4/ 5
Trustpilot rating
1,234
reviews
02.10.2026
snapshot, 2026
SnapshotRatingReviews
02.10.20264.41,234

Share of reviewers in South Africa: — The platform does not publish it.

Pros and cons(2 for and 4 against, each tied to a figure on this page)

For
  • Authorised by the South Africa regulator in its own register
  • Safety 90 of 100, its strongest of 6 scored axes
Against
  • Round turn 9 USD on the standard basis, over the South Africa median 7
  • Min deposit 100 USD, over the South Africa median 50
  • Withdrawal in 120 h, over the South Africa median 24
  • Payouts 0 of 100, its weakest of 6 scored axes

Alternatives in South Africa(6 of 103 scored in South Africa)

4.27
AvaTrade
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
9ZA
Min deposit, USD
100ZA
Leverage
400ZA
Rank in this country
#9
4.55
OctaFX
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
9ZA
Min deposit, USD
25ZA
Leverage
1000ZA
Rank in this country
#1
4.28
ThinkMarkets
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
7ZA
Min deposit, USD
50ZA
Leverage
500ZA
Rank in this country
#8
4.02
Moneta Markets
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
7ZA
Min deposit, USD
50ZA
Leverage
1000ZA
Rank in this country
#25
3.98
FxPro
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
7ZA
Min deposit, USD
100ZA
Leverage
200ZA
Rank in this country
#29
4.14
Grand Capital
Licensed elsewhere
Round turn, USD
5ZA
Min deposit, USD
10ZA
Leverage
500ZA
Rank in this country
#17

Methodology(6 axes · formula v1.0)

Score = 2 + 3 × weighted mean of six axes scored 0–100. Range 2.0–5.0. An axis without data drops out and the remaining weights are renormalised; it is never scored zero or estimated. Group-wide figures never enter a South Africa score. Full methodology

AxisWeightWhat is measuredScope Markets SA
Reviews25%Rating, volume and recency on one public review platform70
Round-turn cost20%Round turn on 1 lot EURUSD: spread plus commission, against the country median80
Safety20%Local authorisation, the entity that onboards you, any regulator warning90
Payouts15%Published withdrawal time, fees and the methods available in the country0
Track record10%Years since the firm was founded, from its own filings60
Platforms10%Which trading platforms the broker confirms for this country65

FAQ

Does Scope Markets SA accept residents of South Africa?
Yes. FSCA-regulated domestic (FSP 47025, ODP64); part of multi-jurisdiction Scope Markets group (also IFSC Belize etc.) Onboarding entity: Scope Markets SA (Pty) Ltd (reg 2016/137466/07), Sandton, Johannesburg
Is Scope Markets SA licensed to serve clients in South Africa?
FSCA FSP 47025; licensed Over-the-Counter Derivatives Provider ODP64 Checked on 11.07.2026.
How much does one round turn cost at Scope Markets SA?
About 9.0 USD per standard lot on EUR/USD. The median across brokers measured for South Africa is 7.0 USD.
What leverage does Scope Markets SA offer to retail clients in South Africa?
Up to 1:1000. CFDs Global indices 1:1000 leverage No requotes Trade Now Learn More Energy CFDs Crude Oil, Gas &amp;
Which trading platforms does Scope Markets SA support?
MetaTrader 4, MetaTrader 5. Instruments: CFDs on forex (40+ pairs), global stock indices, commodities, share CFDs, cryptocurrencies
How can I withdraw money from Scope Markets SA in South Africa?
EFT / instant EFT; card and bank transfer
What account types does Scope Markets SA offer?
ZAR forex/CFD trading accounts (standard/low-cost tiers)

Taxes for a South African resident(1 rule)

  • SARS taxes residents on worldwide income.https://www.scopemarkets.co.za/en/platforms/mt5

Not tax advice. Check with SARS.

Verified · Sources