SponsoredVisit FxPro
100 brokers measured in South Africabroker data checked 27.08.2026
Investec Online / Clarity logoInvestec Online / ClarityInvestec Bank Ltd

Investec Online / Clarity in South Africa — review, licence and costs

Written and checked by the Lantern Review editorial team · how we score ·  score recalculated 01.10.2026
yesAccepts residents of South AfricaOpened by Investec Online / Clarity (South Africa) (Pty) Ltd, register checked 11.07.2026

Score (3 of 6 axes scored)

—2.0–5.0

shown, not ranked: only 40% of the weight has data, need 55%

  • Safety20%90
  • Track record10%100
  • Platforms10%15

Numbered by weight: axis 1 counts for most.

2 + 3 × 0.751 = 4.25 · axes on 0–100, total on 2.0–5.0

Key facts

Licence check

FSCA authorised financial services provider; Investec is a member of the JSE Equity, Equity Derivatives, Currency Derivatives, Bond Derivatives and Interest Rate Derivatives Markets. Specific FSP number not verified at review.
No licence number published for South Africachecked 11.07.2026fsca.co.za
Open an account with Investec Online / Clarity

The broker's own website. Not a partner link — we earn nothing from it.

Screenshot of the Investec Online / Clarity website
Investec Online / Clarity's own site, captured for this review (06.10.2026)

Who actually onboards you

Entity that onboards South Africa residents
Investec Bank Ltd
Local standing
FSCA-regulated domestic (bank-owned share trading + CFD-based investing app)
Licence as the register states it
FSCA authorised financial services provider; Investec is a member of the JSE Equity, Equity Derivatives, Currency Derivatives, Bond Derivatives and Interest Rate Derivatives Markets. Specific FSP number not verified at review.
Leverage for this entity
Investec Online share trading: no retail forex, equities mostly unleveraged. Clarity: invest/trade via Investec-issued CFDs (single-stock CFD structure) rather than high-leverage forex.
The firm behind it
Investec Bank Ltd — specialist SA/UK bank and wealth manager, JSE member. Clarity is its low-cost trading/investing app (launched Feb 2025) positioned against EasyEquities.
What we hold against it
not verified at review

Leverage by entity

The licence belongs to the firm; a leverage figure belongs to one entity. Only the entity that onboards South African residents enters the score.

The entity that onboards youInvestec Bank LtdLocal or offshore not stated in the source · FSCA licence

Investec Online share trading: no retail forex, equities mostly unleveraged. Clarity: invest/trade via Investec-issued CFDs (single-stock CFD structure) rather than high-leverage forex.

—ZA
South Africa median, local entities: 1:50 · 18 of 20 stated

Scale from 1:10 to 1:3000, logarithmic.

Client protection

  • Local entity onboards youFSCA-regulated domestic (bank-owned share trading + CFD-based investing app)
  • Regulator warning on filenone found

— means the broker does not state it in any source we captured. It is not read as “no protection” and it is not scored.

Accounts

Account types the broker names for this country: Investec Online Share Trading account (ZAR/local + offshore), Clarity investing account (from R25 min deposit), TFSA availability on Clarity not verified at review. The figures below are the broker's own and do not differ by account in any source we captured.

Swap-free account terms

Terms read from the account page on 01.10.2026. The cap on open positions is not published.

Where Investec Online / Clarity sits in the South Africa base(103 brokers)

Round-turn cost, USD (80 of 103 priced)

14<5
5010
915
620
125
030
0>30

Median 7 USD · range 1-20 · 23 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Minimum deposit, USD (49 of 103 priced)

42<200
5400
1600
0800
1>800

Median 50 USD · range 0-1000 · this broker 25 USD · 54 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Retail leverage (72 of 103 with a South Africa figure)

49<1k
142k
43k
44k
1>4k

Median 1:500 · range 20-5000 · 31 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Withdrawal time published (103 brokers)

6of 100
Published, hours6not published38Investec Online / Clarity is one of the 6

Payouts(2 methods)

MethodDeposit, hFee, USDMin, USD
EFT24050
Bank transfer24050

Deposit and withdrawal methods (2 methods · 1 local)

EFT / bank transfer, debit order (Investec banking);

  • EFTlocal
  • Bank transfer
Account currency
ZAR
Fee declared
2 of 2 methods
Withdrawal back to
the funding method

Where it does not serve(1 countries)

—

From the client agreement, clause 2.3. A country missing from a translated page is not read as “served”.

Platforms and markets(2 platforms)

  • Investec Online Share Trading platform
  • Clarity mobile app
ClassLeverage
Investec Online Share Trading platform—ZA
Clarity mobile app—ZA

Pros and cons(3 for and 4 against, each tied to a figure on this page)

For
  • Authorised by the South Africa regulator in its own register
  • Min deposit 25 USD, under the South Africa median 50
  • Track record 100 of 100, its strongest of 3 scored axes
Against
  • Round-turn cost not priced: the pair of spread and commission is not published
  • Withdrawal time not published
  • Platforms 15 of 100, its weakest of 3 scored axes
  • Not scored on reviews, round-turn cost, payouts: the broker publishes no figure we could read

Alternatives in South Africa(6 of 103 scored in South Africa)

4.13
IG Markets
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
13.6ZA
Min deposit, USD
50ZA
Leverage
20ZA
Rank in this country
#19
4.32
Mitrade
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
8.5ZA
Min deposit, USD
20ZA
Leverage
200ZA
Rank in this country
#7
4.13
Markets.com
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
6ZA
Min deposit, USD
100ZA
Leverage
300ZA
Rank in this country
#20
3.96
Khwezi Trade
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
4ZA
Min deposit, USD
50 groupZA
Leverage
400ZA
Rank in this country
#32
3.92
Scope Markets SA
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
9ZA
Min deposit, USD
100ZA
Leverage
1000ZA
Rank in this country
#35
3.92
BlackBull Markets
Licensed elsewhere
Round turn, USD
6ZA
Min deposit, USD
0ZA
Leverage
500ZA
Rank in this country
#34

"group" marks a figure the broker publishes for the group rather than for this country. It is shown because the broker states it, and it is not ranked, averaged or used to sort.

Methodology(6 axes · formula v1.0)

Score = 2 + 3 × weighted mean of six axes scored 0–100. Range 2.0–5.0. An axis without data drops out and the remaining weights are renormalised; it is never scored zero or estimated. Group-wide figures never enter a South Africa score. Full methodology

AxisWeightWhat is measuredInvestec Online / Clarity
Reviews25%Rating, volume and recency on one public review platform—
Round-turn cost20%Round turn on 1 lot EURUSD: spread plus commission, against the country median—
Safety20%Local authorisation, the entity that onboards you, any regulator warning90
Payouts15%Published withdrawal time, fees and the methods available in the country—
Track record10%Years since the firm was founded, from its own filings100
Platforms10%Which trading platforms the broker confirms for this country15

— the broker does not publish this figure; it is not read as a zero and it is not scored.

FAQ

Does Investec Online / Clarity accept residents of South Africa?
Yes. FSCA-regulated domestic (bank-owned share trading + CFD-based investing app) Onboarding entity: Investec Bank Ltd
Is Investec Online / Clarity licensed to serve clients in South Africa?
FSCA authorised financial services provider; Investec is a member of the JSE Equity, Equity Derivatives, Currency Derivatives, Bond Derivatives and Interest Rate Derivatives Markets. Specific FSP number not verified at review. Checked on 11.07.2026.
Which trading platforms does Investec Online / Clarity support?
Investec Online Share Trading platform, Clarity mobile app. Instruments: JSE-listed shares & ETFs, local & global shares/ETFs; Clarity offers 600-750+ local & international shares/ETFs via Investec-issued CFDs
How can I withdraw money from Investec Online / Clarity in South Africa?
EFT / bank transfer, debit order (Investec banking); specifics not verified at review
What account types does Investec Online / Clarity offer?
Investec Online Share Trading account (ZAR/local + offshore), Clarity investing account (from R25 min deposit); TFSA availability on Clarity not verified at review

Taxes for a South African resident(1 rule)

  • SARS taxes residents on worldwide income.https://www.investec.com/en_za/investment/self-managed-investing/online-stockbroking.html

Not tax advice. Check with SARS.

Verified · Sources