SponsoredVisit FxPro
100 brokers measured in South Africabroker data checked 27.08.2026
CMC Markets logoCMC MarketsCMC Markets does not accept clients resident in South Africa; South Africa is on CMC's excluded-countries list.

CMC Markets in South Africa — review, licence and costs

Written and checked by the Lantern Review editorial team · how we score ·  score recalculated 01.10.2026
noAccepts residents of South AfricaOpened by CMC Markets (South Africa) (Pty) Ltd, register checked 09.07.2026

Score (5 of 6 axes scored)

3.322.0–5.0

shown, not ranked: no cost

  • Reviews25%65
  • Safety20%0
  • Payouts15%60
  • Track record10%100
  • Platforms10%0

Numbered by weight: axis 1 counts for most.

2 + 3 × 0.440 = 3.32 · axes on 0–100, total on 2.0–5.0

Key facts

Licence check

No CMC entity holds an FSCA licence; not applicable.
No licence number published for South Africachecked 09.07.2026fsca.co.za
Open an account with CMC Markets

The broker's own website. Not a partner link — we earn nothing from it.

Screenshot of the CMC Markets website
CMC Markets's own site, captured for this review (07.10.2026)

Who actually onboards you

Entity that onboards South Africa residents
CMC Markets does not accept clients resident in South Africa; South Africa is on CMC's excluded-countries list.
Local standing
Not served; no FSCA authorisation and no offshore onboarding offered for SA residents.
Licence as the register states it
No CMC entity holds an FSCA licence; not applicable.
Leverage for this entity
not applicable
The firm behind it
Founded 1989, HQ London, listed on the London Stock Exchange; long-established global CFD/spread-betting broker.
What we hold against it
Tier-1 regulated group; South Africa outside its accepted markets despite a large local CFD demand.

Leverage by entity

The licence belongs to the firm; a leverage figure belongs to one entity. Only the entity that onboards South African residents enters the score.

No entity onboards residents hereCMC Markets does not accept clients resident in South Africa; South Africa is on CMC's excluded-countries list.Local or offshore not stated in the source · FSCA licence —
1:200 group
South Africa median, local entities: 1:50 · 18 of 20 statedGroup figure, not the local one

Scale from 1:10 to 1:3000, logarithmic.

"group" marks a figure the broker publishes for the group rather than for this country. It is shown because the broker states it, and it is not ranked, averaged or used to sort.

Client protection

  • Local entity onboards youNot served; no FSCA authorisation and no offshore onboarding offered for SA residents.
  • Regulator warning on filenone found

— means the broker does not state it in any source we captured. It is not read as “no protection” and it is not scored.

Accounts

Account types the broker names for this country: not applicable. The figures below are the broker's own and do not differ by account in any source we captured.

Swap-free account terms

Terms read from the account page on 01.10.2026. The cap on open positions is not published.

Where CMC Markets sits in the South Africa base(103 brokers)

Round-turn cost, USD (80 of 103 priced)

14<5
5010
915
620
125
030
0>30

Median 7 USD · range 1-20 · 23 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Minimum deposit, USD (49 of 103 priced)

42<200
5400
1600
0800
1>800

Median 50 USD · range 0-1000 · this broker 0 USD · 54 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Retail leverage (72 of 103 with a South Africa figure)

49<1k
142k
43k
44k
1>4k

Median 1:500 · range 20-5000 · this broker 1:200 · 31 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Withdrawal time published (103 brokers)

6of 100
Published, hours6not published38CMC Markets is one of the 6

Deposit and withdrawal methods (1 methods · 0 local rails)

not applicable

    Account currency
    not applicable
    Fee declared
    0 of 0 methods
    Withdrawal back to
    the funding method

    Where it does not serve(6 countries)

    South AfricaUnited StatesBrazilUkraineNigeriaPakistan

    From the client agreement, clause 2.3. A country missing from a translated page is not read as “served”.

    Platforms and markets(1 platform)

    ClassCountMin spreadLeverage
    All instruments12000+—200ZA

    184 further account types are named by their brokers but publish none of these figures, so they are not in the comparison: IC Markets Raw Spread MT4/MT5, IC Markets Raw Spread cTrader, Eightcap Standard, Eightcap Raw, Fusion Markets Classic account, Pepperstone Standard and 178 more.

    Reviews(1 platform · 25% of the score)

    4.3/ 5
    Trustpilot rating
    2,061
    reviews
    02.10.2026
    snapshot, 2026
    SnapshotRatingReviews
    02.10.20264.32,061

    Share of reviewers in South Africa: — The platform does not publish it.

    Pros and cons(2 for and 6 against, each tied to a figure on this page)

    For
    • Min deposit 0 USD, under the South Africa median 50
    • Track record 100 of 100, its strongest of 5 scored axes
    Against
    • Round-turn cost not priced: the pair of spread and commission is not published
    • No South Africa authorisation on file: the entity that onboards you is licensed elsewhere
    • A regulator warning is on file against this broker
    • Withdrawal in 48 h, over the South Africa median 24
    • Safety 0 of 100, its weakest of 5 scored axes
    • Not scored on round-turn cost: the broker publishes no figure we could read

    Alternatives in South Africa(6 of 103 scored in South Africa)

    3.49
    Saxo Bank
    Licensed elsewhere
    Round turn, USD
    9ZA
    Min deposit, USD
    0 groupZA
    Rank in this country
    #60
    3.54
    Interactive Brokers
    Licensed elsewhere
    Round turn, USD
    5ZA
    Min deposit, USD
    0ZA
    Rank in this country
    #58
    3.09
    OANDA
    Licensed elsewhere
    Round turn, USD
    6ZA
    Min deposit, USD
    0 groupZA
    Rank in this country
    #67
    4.14
    Grand Capital
    Licensed elsewhere
    Round turn, USD
    5ZA
    Min deposit, USD
    10ZA
    Leverage
    500ZA
    Rank in this country
    #17
    4.13
    Fusion Markets
    Licensed elsewhere
    Round turn, USD
    4.5ZA
    Min deposit, USD
    0ZA
    Leverage
    500ZA
    Rank in this country
    #18
    4.32
    Mitrade
    Locally licensed
    Round turn, USD
    8.5ZA
    Min deposit, USD
    20ZA
    Leverage
    200ZA
    Rank in this country
    #7

    Methodology(6 axes · formula v1.0)

    Score = 2 + 3 × weighted mean of six axes scored 0–100. Range 2.0–5.0. An axis without data drops out and the remaining weights are renormalised; it is never scored zero or estimated. Group-wide figures never enter a South Africa score. Full methodology

    AxisWeightWhat is measuredCMC Markets
    Reviews25%Rating, volume and recency on one public review platform65
    Round-turn cost20%Round turn on 1 lot EURUSD: spread plus commission, against the country median—
    Safety20%Local authorisation, the entity that onboards you, any regulator warning0
    Payouts15%Published withdrawal time, fees and the methods available in the country60
    Track record10%Years since the firm was founded, from its own filings100
    Platforms10%Which trading platforms the broker confirms for this country0

    FAQ

    Does CMC Markets accept residents of South Africa?
    No. Not served; no FSCA authorisation and no offshore onboarding offered for SA residents. Onboarding entity: CMC Markets does not accept clients resident in South Africa; South Africa is on CMC's excluded-countries list.
    Is CMC Markets licensed to serve clients in South Africa?
    No CMC entity holds an FSCA licence; not applicable. Checked on 09.07.2026.
    What leverage does CMC Markets offer to retail clients in South Africa?
    Up to 1:200. +44 (0)20 7170 8200 [email protected] Create account 0.0 Pips FX minimum spread ¹ 1:200 Maximum retail leverage 0.01 Micro lot trading* 12,000 Financial instruments 24/5 Dedicated cust
    How can I withdraw money from CMC Markets in South Africa?
    not applicable
    What account types does CMC Markets offer?
    not applicable

    Taxes for a South African resident(1 rule)

    • SARS taxes residents on worldwide income.https://tradersunion.com/brokers/forex/view/cmc-markets/available-countries

    Not tax advice. Check with SARS.

    Verified · Sources

    Verified01.10.2026
    next review 01.01.2027