SponsoredVisit FxPro
100 brokers measured in South Africabroker data checked 27.08.2026
Interactive Brokers logoInteractive BrokersIBKR LLC

Interactive Brokers in South Africa — review, licence and costs

Written and checked by the Lantern Review editorial team · how we score ·  score recalculated 01.10.2026
yesAccepts residents of South AfricaOpened by Interactive Brokers (South Africa) (Pty) Ltd, register checked 09.07.2026

Score (6 of 6 axes scored)

3.542.0–5.0

ranked against full-basis brokers

  • Reviews25%50
  • Round-turn cost20%100
  • Safety20%0
  • Payouts15%60
  • Track record10%100
  • Platforms10%0

Numbered by weight: axis 1 counts for most.

2 + 3 × 0.513 = 3.54 · axes on 0–100, total on 2.0–5.0

Key facts (5 facts)

Onboarding entity
IBKR LLC
Founded
1978
Round turn
5 USDZA
Currencies
Multi-currency incl. USD; ZAR not a standard base currency.
Swap-free account
no

Licence check

No local FSCA licence; served under US/EU-regulated entities.
No licence number published for South Africachecked 09.07.2026fsca.co.za
Open an account with Interactive Brokers

The broker's own website. Not a partner link — we earn nothing from it.

Screenshot of the Interactive Brokers website
Interactive Brokers's own site, captured for this review (06.10.2026)

Who actually onboards you

Entity that onboards South Africa residents
IBKR LLC
Local standing
Group tier-1 regulated; not on FSCA register for local retail. SA residents accepted.
Licence as the register states it
No local FSCA licence; served under US/EU-regulated entities.
Leverage for this entity
Modest margin; FX up to ~1:50 (US) / ~1:30 (EU). DMA multi-asset, not high-leverage CFD.
The firm behind it
Founded 1978; NASDAQ-listed; global electronic broker.
What we hold against it
Strong global reputation; not FSCA-authorised, so no local ZA regulatory protection.

Leverage by entity

The licence belongs to the firm; a leverage figure belongs to one entity. Only the entity that onboards South African residents enters the score.

The entity that onboards youIBKR LLCLocal or offshore not stated in the source · FSCA licence

Modest margin; FX up to ~1:50 (US) / ~1:30 (EU). DMA multi-asset, not high-leverage CFD.

—ZA
South Africa median, local entities: 1:50 · 18 of 20 stated

Scale from 1:10 to 1:3000, logarithmic.

Client protection

  • Local entity onboards youGroup tier-1 regulated; not on FSCA register for local retail. SA residents accepted.
  • Regulator warning on filenone found

— means the broker does not state it in any source we captured. It is not read as “no protection” and it is not scored.

Price against South Africa market median(priced from 80 of 103)

Round turn, 1 lot EURUSD, spread plus commission, USD
Interactive Brokers, raw spread plus commission5
South Africa median, all 80 priced7
South Africa median, the 58 priced on the raw spread plus commission6.75

Medians run over the 80 of 103 brokers that publish a price for South Africa, never over the whole base. A spread without its commission is not a price and is not counted.

Accounts

Account types the broker names for this country: Cash or Margin, no fixed minimum (margin USD 2, 000). The figures below are the broker's own and do not differ by account in any source we captured.

Swap-free account terms

Terms read from the account page on 01.10.2026. The cap on open positions is not published.

Where Interactive Brokers sits in the South Africa base(103 brokers)

Round-turn cost, USD (80 of 103 priced)

14<5
5010
915
620
125
030
0>30

Median 7 USD · range 1-20 · this broker 5 USD · 23 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Minimum deposit, USD (49 of 103 priced)

42<200
5400
1600
0800
1>800

Median 50 USD · range 0-1000 · this broker 0 USD · 54 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Retail leverage (72 of 103 with a South Africa figure)

49<1k
142k
43k
44k
1>4k

Median 1:500 · range 20-5000 · 31 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Withdrawal time published (103 brokers)

6of 100
Published, hours6not published38Interactive Brokers is one of the 6

Payouts(1 method)

MethodDeposit, hWithdrawal, hFee, USDMin, USD
International bank wire24—050

Deposit and withdrawal methods (1 methods · 0 local rails)

International bank wire;

  • International bank wire
Account currency
Multi-currency incl. USD; ZAR not a standard base currency.
Fee declared
1 of 1 methods
Withdrawal back to
the funding method

Where it does not serve(6 countries)

United StatesCanadaIranNorth KoreaLibyaSyria

From the client agreement, clause 2.3. A country missing from a translated page is not read as “served”.

Platforms and markets(6 platforms)

The platform page on the Interactive Brokers website
The platform page on Interactive Brokers's own site, captured for this review (06.10.2026)
  • TWS
  • IBKR Desktop
  • mobile
  • GlobalTrader
  • API
ClassCountMin spread
TWS—0.1
IBKR Desktop—0.1
mobile—0.1
GlobalTrader—0.1
API—0.1
Forex pairs100+—

184 further account types are named by their brokers but publish none of these figures, so they are not in the comparison: IC Markets Raw Spread MT4/MT5, IC Markets Raw Spread cTrader, Eightcap Standard, Eightcap Raw, Fusion Markets Classic account, Pepperstone Standard and 178 more.

Reviews(1 platform · 25% of the score)

4.0/ 5
Trustpilot rating
—
reviews
02.10.2026
snapshot, 2026
SnapshotRatingReviews
02.10.20264.0—

Share of reviewers in South Africa: — The platform does not publish it.

Pros and cons(4 for and 3 against, each tied to a figure on this page)

For
  • Round turn 5 USD on the raw + commission basis, under the South Africa median 7
  • Min deposit 0 USD, under the South Africa median 50
  • Round-turn cost 100 of 100, its strongest of 6 scored axes
  • 5 platforms: TWS, IBKR Desktop, mobile, GlobalTrader
Against
  • No South Africa authorisation on file: the entity that onboards you is licensed elsewhere
  • Withdrawal in 48 h, over the South Africa median 24
  • Safety 0 of 100, its weakest of 6 scored axes

Alternatives in South Africa(6 of 103 scored in South Africa)

4.13
Fusion Markets
Licensed elsewhere
Round turn, USD
4.5ZA
Min deposit, USD
0ZA
Leverage
500ZA
Rank in this country
#18
3.92
BlackBull Markets
Licensed elsewhere
Round turn, USD
6ZA
Min deposit, USD
0ZA
Leverage
500ZA
Rank in this country
#34
4.14
Grand Capital
Licensed elsewhere
Round turn, USD
5ZA
Min deposit, USD
10ZA
Leverage
500ZA
Rank in this country
#17
4.03
ActivTrades
Licensed elsewhere
Round turn, USD
4.2ZA
Min deposit, USD
0 groupZA
Leverage
200ZA
Rank in this country
#23
3.09
OANDA
Licensed elsewhere
Round turn, USD
6ZA
Min deposit, USD
0 groupZA
Rank in this country
#67
4.48
Capital.com
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
6ZA
Min deposit, USD
20ZA
Leverage
30 group
Rank in this country
#2

"group" marks a figure the broker publishes for the group rather than for this country. It is shown because the broker states it, and it is not ranked, averaged or used to sort.

Methodology(6 axes · formula v1.0)

Score = 2 + 3 × weighted mean of six axes scored 0–100. Range 2.0–5.0. An axis without data drops out and the remaining weights are renormalised; it is never scored zero or estimated. Group-wide figures never enter a South Africa score. Full methodology

AxisWeightWhat is measuredInteractive Brokers
Reviews25%Rating, volume and recency on one public review platform50
Round-turn cost20%Round turn on 1 lot EURUSD: spread plus commission, against the country median100
Safety20%Local authorisation, the entity that onboards you, any regulator warning0
Payouts15%Published withdrawal time, fees and the methods available in the country60
Track record10%Years since the firm was founded, from its own filings100
Platforms10%Which trading platforms the broker confirms for this country0

FAQ

Does Interactive Brokers accept residents of South Africa?
Yes. Group tier-1 regulated; not on FSCA register for local retail. SA residents accepted. Onboarding entity: IBKR LLC
Is Interactive Brokers licensed to serve clients in South Africa?
No local FSCA licence; served under US/EU-regulated entities. Checked on 09.07.2026.
How much does one round turn cost at Interactive Brokers?
About 5.0 USD per standard lot on EUR/USD. The median across brokers measured for South Africa is 7.0 USD.
Which trading platforms does Interactive Brokers support?
TWS, IBKR Desktop, mobile, GlobalTrader, API. Instruments: Global stocks, options, futures, FX, bonds, funds; DMA.
How can I withdraw money from Interactive Brokers in South Africa?
International bank wire; no local ZAR e-wallet rails verified. SARB forex allowance applies.
What account types does Interactive Brokers offer?
Cash or Margin; no fixed minimum (margin USD 2,000).
Does Interactive Brokers offer a swap-free (Islamic) account?
No. Interactive Brokers publishes no swap-free (Islamic) account for South Africa.

Taxes for a South African resident(1 rule)

  • SARS taxes residents on worldwide income.https://interactivebrokers.com/en/accounts/open-account-country-list.php

Not tax advice. Check with SARS.

Verified · Sources

Verified01.10.2026
next review 01.01.2027