SponsoredVisit FxPro
100 brokers measured in South Africabroker data checked 27.08.2026
Saxo Bank logoSaxo BankNot served. Saxo stopped onboarding South African clients effective 1 July 2024 and offboarded existing clients thereafter.

Saxo Bank in South Africa — review, licence and costs

Written and checked by the Lantern Review editorial team · how we score ·  score recalculated 01.10.2026
noAccepts residents of South AfricaOpened by Saxo Bank (South Africa) (Pty) Ltd, register checked 09.07.2026

Score (6 of 6 axes scored)

3.492.0–5.0

ranked against full-basis brokers

  • Reviews25%35
  • Round-turn cost20%80
  • Safety20%0
  • Payouts15%80
  • Track record10%100
  • Platforms10%30

Numbered by weight: axis 1 counts for most.

2 + 3 × 0.497 = 3.49 · axes on 0–100, total on 2.0–5.0

Key facts

Licence check

Not FSCA-registered for onboarding; South Africa removed from Saxo supported-countries list.
No licence number published for South Africachecked 09.07.2026fsca.co.za
Open an account with Saxo Bank

The broker's own website. Not a partner link — we earn nothing from it.

Screenshot of the Saxo Bank website
Saxo Bank's own site, captured for this review (07.10.2026)

Who actually onboards you

Entity that onboards South Africa residents
Not served. Saxo stopped onboarding South African clients effective 1 July 2024 and offboarded existing clients thereafter.
Local standing
Not applicable — no longer offered to South African residents.
Licence as the register states it
Not FSCA-registered for onboarding; South Africa removed from Saxo supported-countries list.
Leverage for this entity
not applicable
The firm behind it
Saxo Bank A/S, founded 1992, Copenhagen, Denmark; tier-1 multi-asset investment bank; SaxoTraderGO/PRO, no MT4/MT5.
What we hold against it
Reputable bank but exited South Africa in 2024 country-presence reduction; new ZA clients cannot open accounts.

Leverage by entity

The licence belongs to the firm; a leverage figure belongs to one entity. Only the entity that onboards South African residents enters the score.

The entity that onboards youNot served. Saxo stopped onboarding South African clients effective 1 July 2024 and offboarded existing clients thereafter.Local or offshore not stated in the source · FSCA licence

not applicable

—ZA
South Africa median, local entities: 1:50 · 18 of 20 stated

Scale from 1:10 to 1:3000, logarithmic.

Client protection

  • Local entity onboards youNot applicable — no longer offered to South African residents.
  • Regulator warning on filenone found

— means the broker does not state it in any source we captured. It is not read as “no protection” and it is not scored.

Price against South Africa market median(priced from 80 of 103)

Round turn, 1 lot EURUSD, spread plus commission, USD
Saxo Bank, standard spread9
South Africa median, all 80 priced7
South Africa median, the 22 priced on the standard spread9.5

Medians run over the 80 of 103 brokers that publish a price for South Africa, never over the whole base. A spread without its commission is not a price and is not counted.

Accounts

Account types the broker names for this country: not applicable. The figures below are the broker's own and do not differ by account in any source we captured.

Swap-free account terms

Terms read from the account page on 01.10.2026. The cap on open positions is not published.

Where Saxo Bank sits in the South Africa base(103 brokers)

Round-turn cost, USD (80 of 103 priced)

14<5
5010
915
620
125
030
0>30

Median 7 USD · range 1-20 · this broker 9 USD · 23 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Minimum deposit, USD (49 of 103 priced)

42<200
5400
1600
0800
1>800

Median 50 USD · range 0-1000 · this broker 0 USD · 54 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Retail leverage (72 of 103 with a South Africa figure)

49<1k
142k
43k
44k
1>4k

Median 1:500 · range 20-5000 · 31 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Withdrawal time published (103 brokers)

6of 100
Published, hours6not published38Saxo Bank is one of the 6

Deposit and withdrawal methods (1 methods · 0 local rails)

not applicable

    Account currency
    not applicable
    Fee declared
    0 of 0 methods
    Withdrawal back to
    the funding method

    Where it does not serve(10 countries)

    United StatesIndiaSouth AfricaNigeriaBrazilPakistanSpainPortugalMexicoKenya

    From the client agreement, clause 2.3. A country missing from a translated page is not read as “served”.

    Platforms and markets(1 platform)

    The platform page on the Saxo Bank website
    The platform page on Saxo Bank's own site, captured for this review (07.10.2026)
    ClassCountMin spreadLeverage
    All instruments71000+——ZA

    184 further account types are named by their brokers but publish none of these figures, so they are not in the comparison: IC Markets Raw Spread MT4/MT5, IC Markets Raw Spread cTrader, Eightcap Standard, Eightcap Raw, Fusion Markets Classic account, Pepperstone Standard and 178 more.

    Reviews(1 platform · 25% of the score)

    3.7/ 5
    Trustpilot rating
    7,458
    reviews
    02.10.2026
    snapshot, 2026
    SnapshotRatingReviews
    02.10.20263.77,458

    Share of reviewers in South Africa: — The platform does not publish it.

    Pros and cons(3 for and 3 against, each tied to a figure on this page)

    For
    • Min deposit 0 USD, under the South Africa median 50
    • Withdrawal in 24 h, one of 86 of 103 brokers here that publish a time
    • Track record 100 of 100, its strongest of 6 scored axes
    Against
    • Round turn 9 USD on the standard basis, over the South Africa median 7
    • No South Africa authorisation on file: the entity that onboards you is licensed elsewhere
    • Safety 0 of 100, its weakest of 6 scored axes

    Alternatives in South Africa(6 of 103 scored in South Africa)

    4.03
    Global Prime
    Licensed elsewhere
    Round turn, USD
    7ZA
    Min deposit, USD
    0 groupZA
    Leverage
    500ZA
    Rank in this country
    #24
    3.73
    Doo Prime
    Licensed elsewhere
    Round turn, USD
    7ZA
    Min deposit, USD
    5 groupZA
    Leverage
    1000ZA
    Rank in this country
    #46
    3.21
    BDSwiss
    Licensed elsewhere
    Round turn, USD
    10ZA
    Min deposit, USD
    10 groupZA
    Leverage
    2000 group
    Rank in this country
    #64
    3.09
    OANDA
    Licensed elsewhere
    Round turn, USD
    6ZA
    Min deposit, USD
    0 groupZA
    Rank in this country
    #67
    3.58
    Windsor Brokers
    Licensed elsewhere
    Round turn, USD
    8ZA
    Min deposit, USD
    50 groupZA
    Leverage
    1000ZA
    Rank in this country
    #56
    4.32
    Mitrade
    Locally licensed
    Round turn, USD
    8.5ZA
    Min deposit, USD
    20ZA
    Leverage
    200ZA
    Rank in this country
    #7

    "group" marks a figure the broker publishes for the group rather than for this country. It is shown because the broker states it, and it is not ranked, averaged or used to sort.

    Methodology(6 axes · formula v1.0)

    Score = 2 + 3 × weighted mean of six axes scored 0–100. Range 2.0–5.0. An axis without data drops out and the remaining weights are renormalised; it is never scored zero or estimated. Group-wide figures never enter a South Africa score. Full methodology

    AxisWeightWhat is measuredSaxo Bank
    Reviews25%Rating, volume and recency on one public review platform35
    Round-turn cost20%Round turn on 1 lot EURUSD: spread plus commission, against the country median80
    Safety20%Local authorisation, the entity that onboards you, any regulator warning0
    Payouts15%Published withdrawal time, fees and the methods available in the country80
    Track record10%Years since the firm was founded, from its own filings100
    Platforms10%Which trading platforms the broker confirms for this country30

    FAQ

    Does Saxo Bank accept residents of South Africa?
    No. Not applicable — no longer offered to South African residents. Onboarding entity: Not served. Saxo stopped onboarding South African clients effective 1 July 2024 and offboarded existing clients thereafter.
    Is Saxo Bank licensed to serve clients in South Africa?
    Not FSCA-registered for onboarding; South Africa removed from Saxo supported-countries list. Checked on 09.07.2026.
    How much does one round turn cost at Saxo Bank?
    About 9.0 USD per standard lot on EUR/USD. The median across brokers measured for South Africa is 7.0 USD.
    How can I withdraw money from Saxo Bank in South Africa?
    not applicable
    What account types does Saxo Bank offer?
    not applicable

    Taxes for a South African resident(1 rule)

    • SARS taxes residents on worldwide income.https://brokerchooser.com/broker-reviews/saxo-bank-review/saxo-bank-south-africa

    Not tax advice. Check with SARS.

    Verified · Sources