SponsoredVisit FxPro
100 brokers measured in South Africabroker data checked 27.08.2026
Pepperstone logoPepperstonePepperstone Markets Kenya Limited

Pepperstone in South Africa — review, licence and costs

Written and checked by the Lantern Review editorial team · how we score ·  score recalculated 01.10.2026
through an offshore entityAccepts residents of South AfricaOpened by Pepperstone (South Africa) (Pty) Ltd, FSCA licence 128, register checked 09.07.2026

Score (6 of 6 axes scored)

3.972.0–5.0

ranked against full-basis brokers

  • Reviews25%75
  • Round-turn cost20%90
  • Safety20%10
  • Payouts15%80
  • Track record10%80
  • Platforms10%70

Numbered by weight: axis 1 counts for most.

2 + 3 × 0.657 = 3.97 · axes on 0–100, total on 2.0–5.0

Key facts (6 facts)

Onboarding entity
Pepperstone Markets Kenya Limited
Founded
2010
Retail leverage
400ZA
Round turn
7 USDZA
Currencies
10 base currencies (AUD, USD, JPY, GBP, EUR, CAD, CHF, NZD, SGD, HKD); no ZAR account - ZAR deposits are converted to USD/EUR.
Swap-free account
yes

Licence check

Serving entity holds CMA (Kenya) Licence No. 128; no FSCA (South Africa) authorisation for local clients.
128
Active on registerchecked 09.07.2026fsca.co.za
Open an account with Pepperstone

The broker's own website. Not a partner link — we earn nothing from it.

Screenshot of the Pepperstone website
Pepperstone's own site, captured for this review (07.10.2026)

Who actually onboards you

Entity that onboards South Africa residents
Pepperstone Markets Kenya Limited
Local standing
Offshore (CMA Kenya); no FSCA licence and no South African statutory investor-compensation scheme.
Licence as the register states it
Serving entity holds CMA (Kenya) Licence No. 128; no FSCA (South Africa) authorisation for local clients.
Leverage for this entity
Up to about 1:400 on forex under the CMA entity; not capped by a local SA regulator.
The firm behind it
Founded 2010 in Melbourne, Australia; large ECN/STP forex and CFD broker with global offices.
What we hold against it
Caveat: served via offshore Kenya CMA entity, not FSCA-licensed, so no local SA investor protection; not on an FSCA warning list at review.

Leverage by entity

The licence belongs to the firm; a leverage figure belongs to one entity. Only the entity that onboards South African residents enters the score.

The entity that onboards youPepperstone Markets Kenya LimitedLocal or offshore not stated in the source · FSCA licence 128
1:400ZA
South Africa median, local entities: 1:50 · 18 of 20 statedApplies to you

Scale from 1:10 to 1:3000, logarithmic.

Client protection

  • Local entity onboards youOffshore (CMA Kenya); no FSCA licence and no South African statutory investor-compensation scheme.
  • Regulator warning on filenone found

— means the broker does not state it in any source we captured. It is not read as “no protection” and it is not scored.

Price against South Africa market median(priced from 80 of 103)

Round turn, 1 lot EURUSD, spread plus commission, USD
Pepperstone, raw spread plus commission7
South Africa median, all 80 priced7
South Africa median, the 58 priced on the raw spread plus commission6.75

Medians run over the 80 of 103 brokers that publish a price for South Africa, never over the whole base. A spread without its commission is not a price and is not counted.

Accounts

Account types the broker names for this country: Standard (spread-only, no commission), Razor (raw-spread ECN + commission from ~USD 3.50/lot per side), no minimum deposit (USD 200 recommended). The figures below are the broker's own and do not differ by account in any source we captured.

Swap-free account terms

Terms read from the account page on 01.10.2026. The cap on open positions is not published.

Where Pepperstone sits in the South Africa base(103 brokers)

Round-turn cost, USD (80 of 103 priced)

14<5
5010
915
620
125
030
0>30

Median 7 USD · range 1-20 · this broker 7 USD · 23 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Minimum deposit, USD (49 of 103 priced)

42<200
5400
1600
0800
1>800

Median 50 USD · range 0-1000 · this broker 200 USD · 54 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Retail leverage (72 of 103 with a South Africa figure)

49<1k
142k
43k
44k
1>4k

Median 1:500 · range 20-5000 · this broker 1:400 · 31 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Withdrawal time published (103 brokers)

6of 100
Published, hours6not published38Pepperstone is one of the 6

Payouts

Identical for every row: Deposit, h 24 · Fee, USD 0 · Min, USD 50.

Deposit and withdrawal methods (6 methods · 0 local rails)

ZAR deposits via bank transfer and Visa/Mastercard (converted), plus Skrill, Neteller and PayPal;

  • ZAR deposits via bank transfer
  • Visa
  • Mastercard
  • Skrill
  • Neteller
  • PayPal
Account currency
10 base currencies (AUD, USD, JPY, GBP, EUR, CAD, CHF, NZD, SGD, HKD); no ZAR account - ZAR deposits are converted to USD/EUR.
Fee declared
6 of 6 methods
Withdrawal back to
the funding method

Where it does not serve(61 countries)

SamoaArmeniaBelarusBelizeBhutanBosnia and HerzegovinaCameroonCanadaChadCongoCote dIvoireEritreaKazakhstanNorth KoreaSouth KoreaGuinea-BissauGuyanaLiberiaMaliNew ZealandNicaraguaIranGuineaIraqDemocratic Republic of the CongoافغانستانGuamSurinameUnited StatesSomaliaPuerto RicoBelgiumRussian FederationTurkmenistanVenezuelaYemenSyriaCentral African RepublicLebanonVanuatuTajikistanJapanLibyaMozambiqueMyanmarHaitiSouth SudanSudanSaint Kitts and NevisSaint LuciaSaint Vincent and the GrenadinesZimbabweAmerican SamoaFrench PolynesiaGuadeloupeMayotteUkraineVirgin Islands, U.S.SpainMalaysiaCuba

From the client agreement, clause 2.3. A country missing from a translated page is not read as “served”.

Platforms and markets(10 platforms)

  • MT4
  • MT5
  • cTrader
  • TradingView
  • Pepperstone's proprietary TradingView-powered platform
ClassCountMin spread
MT4—1
MT5—1
cTrader—1
TradingView—1
Pepperstone's proprietary TradingView-powered platform—1
Forex pairs93—
Shares1162—
Indices26—
Commodities40—
Crypto31—

184 further account types are named by their brokers but publish none of these figures, so they are not in the comparison: IC Markets Raw Spread MT4/MT5, IC Markets Raw Spread cTrader, Eightcap Standard, Eightcap Raw, Fusion Markets Classic account, Pepperstone Standard and 178 more.

Identical for every row: Leverage 400 ZA.

Reviews(1 platform · 25% of the score)

4.5/ 5
Trustpilot rating
434
reviews
02.10.2026
snapshot, 2026
SnapshotRatingReviews
02.10.20264.5434

Share of reviewers in South Africa: — The platform does not publish it.

Pros and cons(4 for and 3 against, each tied to a figure on this page)

For
  • Withdrawal in 24 h, one of 86 of 103 brokers here that publish a time
  • Swap-free account available
  • Round-turn cost 90 of 100, its strongest of 6 scored axes
  • 5 platforms: MT4, MT5, cTrader, TradingView
Against
  • No South Africa authorisation on file: the entity that onboards you is licensed elsewhere
  • Min deposit 200 USD, over the South Africa median 50
  • Safety 10 of 100, its weakest of 6 scored axes

Alternatives in South Africa(6 of 103 scored in South Africa)

4.12
IC Markets
Licensed elsewhere
Round turn, USD
7.5ZA
Min deposit, USD
200ZA
Leverage
500ZA
Rank in this country
#21
3.92
BlackBull Markets
Licensed elsewhere
Round turn, USD
6ZA
Min deposit, USD
0ZA
Leverage
500ZA
Rank in this country
#34
3.84
GO Markets
Licensed elsewhere
Round turn, USD
6ZA
Min deposit, USD
200ZA
Leverage
500ZA
Rank in this country
#37
3.82
Orbex
Licensed elsewhere
Round turn, USD
8ZA
Min deposit, USD
100ZA
Leverage
500ZA
Rank in this country
#40
3.75
Blueberry Markets
Licensed elsewhere
Round turn, USD
7ZA
Min deposit, USD
100 groupZA
Leverage
500ZA
Rank in this country
#45
4.24
CMTrading
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
8ZA
Min deposit, USD
300ZA
Leverage
200ZA
Rank in this country
#12

"group" marks a figure the broker publishes for the group rather than for this country. It is shown because the broker states it, and it is not ranked, averaged or used to sort.

Methodology(6 axes · formula v1.0)

Score = 2 + 3 × weighted mean of six axes scored 0–100. Range 2.0–5.0. An axis without data drops out and the remaining weights are renormalised; it is never scored zero or estimated. Group-wide figures never enter a South Africa score. Full methodology

AxisWeightWhat is measuredPepperstone
Reviews25%Rating, volume and recency on one public review platform75
Round-turn cost20%Round turn on 1 lot EURUSD: spread plus commission, against the country median90
Safety20%Local authorisation, the entity that onboards you, any regulator warning10
Payouts15%Published withdrawal time, fees and the methods available in the country80
Track record10%Years since the firm was founded, from its own filings80
Platforms10%Which trading platforms the broker confirms for this country70

FAQ

Does Pepperstone accept residents of South Africa?
No. Offshore (CMA Kenya); no FSCA licence and no South African statutory investor-compensation scheme. Onboarding entity: Pepperstone Markets Kenya Limited
Is Pepperstone licensed to serve clients in South Africa?
Serving entity holds CMA (Kenya) Licence No. 128; no FSCA (South Africa) authorisation for local clients. Checked on 09.07.2026.
How much does one round turn cost at Pepperstone?
About 7.0 USD per standard lot on EUR/USD. The median across brokers measured for South Africa is 7.0 USD.
What leverage does Pepperstone offer to retail clients in South Africa?
Up to 1:400. Up to about 1:400 on forex under the CMA entity; not capped by a local SA regulator.
Which trading platforms does Pepperstone support?
MT4, MT5, cTrader, TradingView, Pepperstone's proprietary TradingView-powered platform. Instruments: 1,200+ instruments: 90+ forex pairs, indices, commodities/metals, share CFDs, ETFs and crypto CFDs.
How can I withdraw money from Pepperstone in South Africa?
ZAR deposits via bank transfer and Visa/Mastercard (converted), plus Skrill, Neteller and PayPal; no verified ZAR instant-EFT native account at review.
What account types does Pepperstone offer?
Standard (spread-only, no commission) and Razor (raw-spread ECN + commission from ~USD 3.50/lot per side); no minimum deposit (USD 200 recommended).
Does Pepperstone offer a swap-free (Islamic) account?
Yes. Pepperstone offers a swap-free (Islamic) account to South Africa residents.

Taxes for a South African resident(1 rule)

  • SARS taxes residents on worldwide income.https://fxscouts.co.za/broker/pepperstone

Not tax advice. Check with SARS.

Verified · Sources

Verified01.10.2026
next review 01.01.2027