SponsoredVisit FxPro
100 brokers measured in South Africabroker data checked 27.08.2026
HeadwayHome base: Jarocel (Pty) Ltd, East London, South Africa.

Headway in South Africa — review, licence and costs

Written and checked by the Lantern Review editorial team · how we score ·  score recalculated 01.10.2026
yesAccepts residents of South AfricaOpened by Headway (South Africa) (Pty) Ltd, FSCA licence 52108, register checked 09.07.2026

Score (6 of 6 axes scored)

4.22.0–5.0

ranked against full-basis brokers

  • Reviews25%55
  • Round-turn cost20%100
  • Safety20%90
  • Payouts15%99.6
  • Track record10%15
  • Platforms10%50

Numbered by weight: axis 1 counts for most.

2 + 3 × 0.733 = 4.2 · axes on 0–100, total on 2.0–5.0

Key facts (5 facts)

Onboarding entity
Home base: Jarocel (Pty) Ltd, East London, South Africa.
Founded
2023
Round turn
3 USDZA
Currencies
ZAR supported (plus USD/EUR and others).
Swap-free account
yes

Licence check

South Africa FSCA licence 52108 (Derivatives Trading/EP) held by Jarocel (Pty) Ltd; Tier-2.
52108
Active on registerchecked 09.07.2026fsca.co.za

Who actually onboards you

Entity that onboards South Africa residents
Home base: Jarocel (Pty) Ltd, East London, South Africa.
Local standing
Locally licensed by FSCA, but some sources question whether the brand fully matches the registered firm; Tier-2 oversight.
Licence as the register states it
South Africa FSCA licence 52108 (Derivatives Trading/EP) held by Jarocel (Pty) Ltd; Tier-2.
Leverage for this entity
Up to 1:unlimited after 5 std lots; ~1:2000 under $5k, 1:1000 standard.
The firm behind it
Headway brand of Jarocel (Pty) Ltd; founded ~2019 (some sources 2022); FSCA-registered.
What we hold against it
WikiFX complaint blacklist; withdrawal/balance-deduction complaints; virtual-only presence.

Leverage by entity

The licence belongs to the firm; a leverage figure belongs to one entity. Only the entity that onboards South African residents enters the score.

The entity that onboards youHome base: Jarocel (Pty) Ltd, East London, South Africa.Local or offshore not stated in the source · FSCA licence

Up to 1:unlimited after 5 std lots; ~1:2000 under $5k, 1:1000 standard.

—ZA
South Africa median, local entities: 1:50 · 18 of 20 stated

Scale from 1:10 to 1:3000, logarithmic.

Client protection

  • Local entity onboards youLocally licensed by FSCA, but some sources question whether the brand fully matches the registered firm; Tier-2 oversight.
  • Regulator warning on filenone found

— means the broker does not state it in any source we captured. It is not read as “no protection” and it is not scored.

Price against South Africa market median(priced from 80 of 103)

Round turn, 1 lot EURUSD, spread plus commission, USD
Headway, raw spread plus commission3
South Africa median, all 80 priced7
South Africa median, the 58 priced on the raw spread plus commission6.75

Medians run over the 80 of 103 brokers that publish a price for South Africa, never over the whole base. A spread without its commission is not a price and is not counted.

Accounts

Account types the broker names for this country: Cent, Standard, Pro, Islamic, Demo. The figures below are the broker's own and do not differ by account in any source we captured.

Swap-free account terms

Terms read from the account page on 01.10.2026. The cap on open positions is not published.

Where Headway sits in the South Africa base(103 brokers)

Round-turn cost, USD (80 of 103 priced)

14<5
5010
915
620
125
030
0>30

Median 7 USD · range 1-20 · this broker 3 USD · 23 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Minimum deposit, USD (49 of 103 priced)

42<200
5400
1600
0800
1>800

Median 50 USD · range 0-1000 · this broker 1 USD · 54 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Retail leverage (72 of 103 with a South Africa figure)

49<1k
142k
43k
44k
1>4k

Median 1:500 · range 20-5000 · 31 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Withdrawal time published (103 brokers)

6of 100
Published, hours6not published38Headway is one of the 6

Payouts

Identical for every row: Deposit, h 24 · Fee, USD 0 · Min, USD 50.

Deposit and withdrawal methods (4 methods · 0 local rails)

ZAR cards/bank transfer, e-wallets, crypto;

  • ZAR cards
  • Bank transfer
  • E-wallets
  • Crypto
Account currency
ZAR supported (plus USD/EUR and others).
Fee declared
4 of 4 methods
Withdrawal back to
the funding method

Where it does not serve(8 countries)

AfghanistanIranNorth KoreaRussian FederationSomaliaSudanSyriaUnited States

From the client agreement, clause 2.3. A country missing from a translated page is not read as “served”.

Platforms and markets(4 platforms)

  • MT4
  • MT5
  • Headway App
ClassCountMin spread
MT4—0.3
MT5—0.3
Headway App—0.3
All instruments350+—

184 further account types are named by their brokers but publish none of these figures, so they are not in the comparison: IC Markets Raw Spread MT4/MT5, IC Markets Raw Spread cTrader, Eightcap Standard, Eightcap Raw, Fusion Markets Classic account, Pepperstone Standard and 178 more.

Reviews(1 platform · 25% of the score)

4.1/ 5
Trustpilot rating
—
reviews
02.10.2026
snapshot, 2026
SnapshotRatingReviews
02.10.20264.1—

Share of reviewers in South Africa: — The platform does not publish it.

Pros and cons(7 for and 2 against, each tied to a figure on this page)

For
  • Round turn 3 USD on the raw + commission basis, under the South Africa median 7
  • Locally authorised, licence 52108, read on 09.07.2026
  • Min deposit 1 USD, under the South Africa median 50
  • Withdrawal in 0.5 h, one of 86 of 103 brokers here that publish a time
  • Swap-free account available
  • Round-turn cost 100 of 100, its strongest of 6 scored axes
  • 3 platforms: MT4, MT5, Headway App
Against
  • A regulator warning is on file against this broker
  • Track record 15 of 100, its weakest of 6 scored axes

Alternatives in South Africa(6 of 103 scored in South Africa)

4.18
JustMarkets
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
3ZA
Min deposit, USD
10 groupZA
Leverage
3000ZA
Rank in this country
#15
4.23
STARTRADER
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
4ZA
Min deposit, USD
50ZA
Leverage
1000ZA
Rank in this country
#13
4.36
FXGT
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
6ZA
Min deposit, USD
10ZA
Leverage
5000ZA
Rank in this country
#5
4.48
Capital.com
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
6ZA
Min deposit, USD
20ZA
Leverage
30 group
Rank in this country
#2
4.46
HFM
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
6ZA
Min deposit, USD
0 groupZA
Leverage
2000ZA
Rank in this country
#3
4.36
Admirals
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
6ZA
Min deposit, USD
25ZA
Leverage
500ZA
Rank in this country
#6

"group" marks a figure the broker publishes for the group rather than for this country. It is shown because the broker states it, and it is not ranked, averaged or used to sort.

Methodology(6 axes · formula v1.0)

Score = 2 + 3 × weighted mean of six axes scored 0–100. Range 2.0–5.0. An axis without data drops out and the remaining weights are renormalised; it is never scored zero or estimated. Group-wide figures never enter a South Africa score. Full methodology

AxisWeightWhat is measuredHeadway
Reviews25%Rating, volume and recency on one public review platform55
Round-turn cost20%Round turn on 1 lot EURUSD: spread plus commission, against the country median100
Safety20%Local authorisation, the entity that onboards you, any regulator warning90
Payouts15%Published withdrawal time, fees and the methods available in the country100
Track record10%Years since the firm was founded, from its own filings15
Platforms10%Which trading platforms the broker confirms for this country50

FAQ

Does Headway accept residents of South Africa?
Yes. Locally licensed by FSCA, but some sources question whether the brand fully matches the registered firm; Tier-2 oversight. Onboarding entity: Home base: Jarocel (Pty) Ltd, East London, South Africa.
Is Headway licensed to serve clients in South Africa?
South Africa FSCA licence 52108 (Derivatives Trading/EP) held by Jarocel (Pty) Ltd; Tier-2. Checked on 09.07.2026.
How much does one round turn cost at Headway?
About 3.0 USD per standard lot on EUR/USD. The median across brokers measured for South Africa is 7.0 USD.
Which trading platforms does Headway support?
MT4, MT5, Headway App. Instruments: FX, commodities, indices, stocks, crypto, synthetics (400+).
How can I withdraw money from Headway in South Africa?
ZAR cards/bank transfer, e-wallets, crypto; $0 deposit fees.
What account types does Headway offer?
Cent, Standard, Pro, Islamic, Demo.
Does Headway offer a swap-free (Islamic) account?
Yes. Headway offers a swap-free (Islamic) account to South Africa residents.

Taxes for a South African resident(1 rule)

  • SARS taxes residents on worldwide income.https://fxempire.com/brokers/headway

Not tax advice. Check with SARS.

Verified · Sources

Verified01.10.2026
next review 01.01.2027