SponsoredVisit FxPro
100 brokers measured in South Africabroker data checked 27.08.2026
CAPEX logoCAPEXJME Financial Services (Pty) Ltd, operating za.capex.com — the locally licensed CAPEX entity for SA.

CAPEX in South Africa — review, licence and costs

Written and checked by the Lantern Review editorial team · how we score ·  score recalculated 01.10.2026
yesAccepts residents of South AfricaOpened by CAPEX (South Africa) (Pty) Ltd, FSCA licence 37166, register checked 09.07.2026

Score (6 of 6 axes scored)

4.152.0–5.0

ranked against full-basis brokers

  • Reviews25%55
  • Round-turn cost20%92.5
  • Safety20%100
  • Payouts15%80
  • Track record10%50
  • Platforms10%25

Numbered by weight: axis 1 counts for most.

2 + 3 × 0.717 = 4.15 · axes on 0–100, total on 2.0–5.0

Key facts (6 facts)

Onboarding entity
JME Financial Services (Pty) Ltd, operating za.capex.com — the locally licensed CAPEX entity for SA.
Founded
2016
Retail leverage
300ZA
Round turn
6.5 USDZA
Currencies
ZAR supported (plus USD/EUR).
Swap-free account
yes

Licence check

FSCA-authorised, FSP no. 37166 (JME Financial Services). Locally regulated.
37166
Active on registerchecked 09.07.2026fsca.co.za
Open an account with CAPEX

The broker's own website. Not a partner link — we earn nothing from it.

Screenshot of the CAPEX website
CAPEX's own site, captured for this review (07.10.2026)

Who actually onboards you

Entity that onboards South Africa residents
JME Financial Services (Pty) Ltd, operating za.capex.com — the locally licensed CAPEX entity for SA.
Local standing
Locally FSCA-regulated (only geo here with a domestic licence). Note: post-NAGA merger CAPEX brand consolidating toward NAGA; verify current SA onboarding status.
Licence as the register states it
FSCA-authorised, FSP no. 37166 (JME Financial Services). Locally regulated.
Leverage for this entity
Up to 1:300 (za.capex.com historic).
The firm behind it
CAPEX.com launched 2016 by Key Way Group; SA via JME Financial Services (FSCA); merged into NAGA Group Aug 2024.
What we hold against it
On FSCA register (FSP 37166); reputable local licence. Brand transitioning to NAGA — verify live onboarding.

Leverage by entity

The licence belongs to the firm; a leverage figure belongs to one entity. Only the entity that onboards South African residents enters the score.

The entity that onboards youJME Financial Services (Pty) Ltd, operating za.capex.com — the locally licensed CAPEX entity for SA.Local or offshore not stated in the source · FSCA licence 37166
1:300ZA
South Africa median, local entities: 1:50 · 18 of 20 statedApplies to you

Scale from 1:10 to 1:3000, logarithmic.

Client protection

  • Local entity onboards youLocally FSCA-regulated (only geo here with a domestic licence). Note: post-NAGA merger CAPEX brand consolidating toward NAGA; verify current SA onboarding status.
  • Regulator warning on filenone found

— means the broker does not state it in any source we captured. It is not read as “no protection” and it is not scored.

Price against South Africa market median(priced from 80 of 103)

Round turn, 1 lot EURUSD, spread plus commission, USD
CAPEX, raw spread plus commission6.5
South Africa median, all 80 priced7
South Africa median, the 58 priced on the raw spread plus commission6.75

Medians run over the 80 of 103 brokers that publish a price for South Africa, never over the whole base. A spread without its commission is not a price and is not counted.

Accounts

Account types the broker names for this country: Essential (min ~$100/R1, 600), Original ($1, 000), Signature ($25, 000). The figures below are the broker's own and do not differ by account in any source we captured.

Swap-free account terms

Terms read from the account page on 01.10.2026. The cap on open positions is not published.

Where CAPEX sits in the South Africa base(103 brokers)

Round-turn cost, USD (80 of 103 priced)

14<5
5010
915
620
125
030
0>30

Median 7 USD · range 1-20 · this broker 6.5 USD · 23 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Minimum deposit, USD (49 of 103 priced)

42<200
5400
1600
0800
1>800

Median 50 USD · range 0-1000 · this broker 100 USD · 54 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Retail leverage (72 of 103 with a South Africa figure)

49<1k
142k
43k
44k
1>4k

Median 1:500 · range 20-5000 · this broker 1:300 · 31 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Withdrawal time published (103 brokers)

6of 100
Published, hours6not published38CAPEX is one of the 6

Payouts

Identical for every row: Deposit, h 24 · Fee, USD 0 · Min, USD 50.

Deposit and withdrawal methods (3 methods · 1 local)

Cards, bank transfer/EFT, e-wallets.

  • Cards
  • Bank transfer
  • EFTlocal
Account currency
ZAR supported (plus USD/EUR).
Fee declared
3 of 3 methods
Withdrawal back to
the funding method

Where it does not serve(4 countries)

United StatesCanadaJapanSpain

From the client agreement, clause 2.3. A country missing from a translated page is not read as “served”.

Platforms and markets(2 platforms)

  • CapexTrader (WebTrader)
  • MT5
ClassMin spreadLeverage
CapexTrader (WebTrader)1.4300ZA
MT51.4300ZA

184 further account types are named by their brokers but publish none of these figures, so they are not in the comparison: IC Markets Raw Spread MT4/MT5, IC Markets Raw Spread cTrader, Eightcap Standard, Eightcap Raw, Fusion Markets Classic account, Pepperstone Standard and 178 more.

Reviews(1 platform · 25% of the score)

4.1/ 5
Trustpilot rating
1,900
reviews
02.10.2026
snapshot, 2026
SnapshotRatingReviews
02.10.20264.11,900

Share of reviewers in South Africa: — The platform does not publish it.

Pros and cons(5 for and 2 against, each tied to a figure on this page)

For
  • Round turn 6.5 USD on the raw + commission basis, under the South Africa median 7
  • Locally authorised, licence 37166, read on 09.07.2026
  • Withdrawal in 24 h, one of 86 of 103 brokers here that publish a time
  • Swap-free account available
  • Safety 100 of 100, its strongest of 6 scored axes
Against
  • Min deposit 100 USD, over the South Africa median 50
  • Platforms 25 of 100, its weakest of 6 scored axes

Alternatives in South Africa(6 of 103 scored in South Africa)

4.27
Tickmill
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
6ZA
Min deposit, USD
100ZA
Leverage
1000ZA
Rank in this country
#10
4.13
Markets.com
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
6ZA
Min deposit, USD
100ZA
Leverage
300ZA
Rank in this country
#20
4.48
Capital.com
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
6ZA
Min deposit, USD
20ZA
Leverage
30 group
Rank in this country
#2
4.37
ACY Securities
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
6ZA
Min deposit, USD
50 groupZA
Leverage
500 group
Rank in this country
#4
4.36
FXGT
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
6ZA
Min deposit, USD
10ZA
Leverage
5000ZA
Rank in this country
#5
3.92
BlackBull Markets
Licensed elsewhere
Round turn, USD
6ZA
Min deposit, USD
0ZA
Leverage
500ZA
Rank in this country
#34

"group" marks a figure the broker publishes for the group rather than for this country. It is shown because the broker states it, and it is not ranked, averaged or used to sort.

Methodology(6 axes · formula v1.0)

Score = 2 + 3 × weighted mean of six axes scored 0–100. Range 2.0–5.0. An axis without data drops out and the remaining weights are renormalised; it is never scored zero or estimated. Group-wide figures never enter a South Africa score. Full methodology

AxisWeightWhat is measuredCAPEX
Reviews25%Rating, volume and recency on one public review platform55
Round-turn cost20%Round turn on 1 lot EURUSD: spread plus commission, against the country median92
Safety20%Local authorisation, the entity that onboards you, any regulator warning100
Payouts15%Published withdrawal time, fees and the methods available in the country80
Track record10%Years since the firm was founded, from its own filings50
Platforms10%Which trading platforms the broker confirms for this country25

FAQ

Does CAPEX accept residents of South Africa?
Yes. Locally FSCA-regulated (only geo here with a domestic licence). Note: post-NAGA merger CAPEX brand consolidating toward NAGA; verify current SA onboarding status. Onboarding entity: JME Financial Services (Pty) Ltd, operating za.capex.com — the locally licensed CAPEX entity for SA.
Is CAPEX licensed to serve clients in South Africa?
FSCA-authorised, FSP no. 37166 (JME Financial Services). Locally regulated. Checked on 09.07.2026.
How much does one round turn cost at CAPEX?
About 6.5 USD per standard lot on EUR/USD. The median across brokers measured for South Africa is 7.0 USD.
What leverage does CAPEX offer to retail clients in South Africa?
Up to 1:300. Up to 1:300 (za.capex.com historic)
Which trading platforms does CAPEX support?
CapexTrader (WebTrader), MT5. Instruments: 2,100+ instruments incl. USD/ZAR; FX, shares, ETFs, indices, commodities, crypto CFDs.
How can I withdraw money from CAPEX in South Africa?
Cards, bank transfer/EFT, e-wallets. Specific SA rails not fully verified at review.
What account types does CAPEX offer?
Essential (min ~$100/R1,600), Original ($1,000), Signature ($25,000).
Does CAPEX offer a swap-free (Islamic) account?
Yes. CAPEX offers a swap-free (Islamic) account to South Africa residents.

Taxes for a South African resident(1 rule)

  • SARS taxes residents on worldwide income.https://za.capex.com

Not tax advice. Check with SARS.

Verified · Sources