SponsoredVisit FxPro
100 brokers measured in South Africabroker data checked 27.08.2026
Absa Stockbrokers & Portfolio Management logoAbsa Stockbrokers & Portfolio Managementof Absa Group Ltd

Absa Stockbrokers & Portfolio Management in South Africa — review, licence and costs

Written and checked by the Lantern Review editorial team · how we score ·  score recalculated 01.10.2026
yesAccepts residents of South AfricaOpened by Absa Stockbrokers & Portfolio Management (South Africa) (Pty) Ltd, FSCA licence 45849, register checked 11.07.2026

Score (3 of 6 axes scored)

—2.0–5.0

shown, not ranked: only 40% of the weight has data, need 55%

  • Safety20%90
  • Track record10%100
  • Platforms10%15

Numbered by weight: axis 1 counts for most.

2 + 3 × 0.751 = 4.25 · axes on 0–100, total on 2.0–5.0

Key facts

Licence check

FSCA authorised FSP No. 45849; member of the JSE Equity Market
45849
Active on registerchecked 11.07.2026fsca.co.za
Open an account with Absa Stockbrokers & Portfolio Management

The broker's own website. Not a partner link — we earn nothing from it.

Screenshot of the Absa Stockbrokers & Portfolio Management website
Absa Stockbrokers & Portfolio Management's own site, captured for this review (06.10.2026)

Who actually onboards you

Entity that onboards South Africa residents
of Absa Group Ltd
Local standing
FSCA-regulated domestic (bank-owned share trading)
Licence as the register states it
FSCA authorised FSP No. 45849; member of the JSE Equity Market
Leverage for this entity
No retail forex; equities mostly unleveraged (single-stock CFDs / share trading). Bank-owned stockbroker, not a leveraged-CFD forex house.
The firm behind it
Stockbroking arm of Absa Group Ltd (major South African bank); JSE Equity Market member offering self-managed and managed local/offshore share trading
What we hold against it
not verified at review

Leverage by entity

The licence belongs to the firm; a leverage figure belongs to one entity. Only the entity that onboards South African residents enters the score.

The entity that onboards youof Absa Group LtdLocal or offshore not stated in the source · FSCA licence

No retail forex; equities mostly unleveraged (single-stock CFDs / share trading). Bank-owned stockbroker, not a leveraged-CFD forex house.

—ZA
South Africa median, local entities: 1:50 · 18 of 20 stated

Scale from 1:10 to 1:3000, logarithmic.

Client protection

  • Local entity onboards youFSCA-regulated domestic (bank-owned share trading)
  • Regulator warning on filenone found

— means the broker does not state it in any source we captured. It is not read as “no protection” and it is not scored.

Accounts

Account types the broker names for this country: Smart Trading Account (ZAR), Tax-Free Savings Account (TFSA), World Trader Account (offshore/USD, free with Smart Account), managed portfolios. The figures below are the broker's own and do not differ by account in any source we captured.

Swap-free account terms

Terms read from the account page on 01.10.2026. The cap on open positions is not published.

Where Absa Stockbrokers & Portfolio Management sits in the South Africa base(103 brokers)

Round-turn cost, USD (80 of 103 priced)

14<5
5010
915
620
125
030
0>30

Median 7 USD · range 1-20 · 23 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Minimum deposit, USD (49 of 103 priced)

42<200
5400
1600
0800
1>800

Median 50 USD · range 0-1000 · 54 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Retail leverage (72 of 103 with a South Africa figure)

49<1k
142k
43k
44k
1>4k

Median 1:500 · range 20-5000 · 31 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Withdrawal time published (103 brokers)

6of 100
Published, hours6not published38Absa Stockbrokers & Portfolio Management is one of the 6

Payouts(2 methods)

MethodDeposit, hFee, USDMin, USD
EFT24050
Bank transfer24050

Deposit and withdrawal methods (2 methods · 1 local)

EFT / bank transfer, debit order (Absa banking);

  • EFTlocal
  • Bank transfer
Account currency
ZAR
Fee declared
2 of 2 methods
Withdrawal back to
the funding method

Where it does not serve(1 countries)

—

From the client agreement, clause 2.3. A country missing from a translated page is not read as “served”.

Platforms and markets(3 platforms)

  • Absa Stockbrokers online platform
  • app
  • World Trader

Pros and cons(3 for and 4 against, each tied to a figure on this page)

For
  • Locally authorised, licence 45849, read on 11.07.2026
  • Track record 100 of 100, its strongest of 3 scored axes
  • 3 platforms: Absa Stockbrokers online platform, app, World Trader
Against
  • Round-turn cost not priced: the pair of spread and commission is not published
  • Withdrawal time not published
  • Platforms 15 of 100, its weakest of 3 scored axes
  • Not scored on reviews, round-turn cost, payouts: the broker publishes no figure we could read

Alternatives in South Africa(6 of 103 scored in South Africa)

4.13
IG Markets
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
13.6ZA
Min deposit, USD
50ZA
Leverage
20ZA
Rank in this country
#19
4.32
Mitrade
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
8.5ZA
Min deposit, USD
20ZA
Leverage
200ZA
Rank in this country
#7
4.13
Markets.com
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
6ZA
Min deposit, USD
100ZA
Leverage
300ZA
Rank in this country
#20
4
Scope Markets
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
9ZA
Min deposit, USD
10 groupZA
Leverage
1000 group
Rank in this country
#27
3.96
Khwezi Trade
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
4ZA
Min deposit, USD
50 groupZA
Leverage
400ZA
Rank in this country
#32
3.92
BlackBull Markets
Licensed elsewhere
Round turn, USD
6ZA
Min deposit, USD
0ZA
Leverage
500ZA
Rank in this country
#34

"group" marks a figure the broker publishes for the group rather than for this country. It is shown because the broker states it, and it is not ranked, averaged or used to sort.

Methodology(6 axes · formula v1.0)

Score = 2 + 3 × weighted mean of six axes scored 0–100. Range 2.0–5.0. An axis without data drops out and the remaining weights are renormalised; it is never scored zero or estimated. Group-wide figures never enter a South Africa score. Full methodology

AxisWeightWhat is measuredAbsa Stockbrokers & Portfolio Management
Reviews25%Rating, volume and recency on one public review platform—
Round-turn cost20%Round turn on 1 lot EURUSD: spread plus commission, against the country median—
Safety20%Local authorisation, the entity that onboards you, any regulator warning90
Payouts15%Published withdrawal time, fees and the methods available in the country—
Track record10%Years since the firm was founded, from its own filings100
Platforms10%Which trading platforms the broker confirms for this country15

— the broker does not publish this figure; it is not read as a zero and it is not scored.

FAQ

Does Absa Stockbrokers & Portfolio Management accept residents of South Africa?
Yes. FSCA-regulated domestic (bank-owned share trading) Onboarding entity: of Absa Group Ltd
Is Absa Stockbrokers & Portfolio Management licensed to serve clients in South Africa?
FSCA authorised FSP No. 45849; member of the JSE Equity Market Checked on 11.07.2026.
Which trading platforms does Absa Stockbrokers & Portfolio Management support?
Absa Stockbrokers online platform, app, World Trader. Instruments: JSE-listed shares, ETFs, local & offshore shares (global exchanges via World Trader); select local ETFs in TFSA
How can I withdraw money from Absa Stockbrokers & Portfolio Management in South Africa?
EFT / bank transfer, debit order (Absa banking); specifics not verified at review
What account types does Absa Stockbrokers & Portfolio Management offer?
Smart Trading Account (ZAR), Tax-Free Savings Account (TFSA), World Trader Account (offshore/USD, free with Smart Account), managed portfolios

Taxes for a South African resident(1 rule)

  • SARS taxes residents on worldwide income.https://www.absa.co.za/personal/save-invest/stockbroker-and-portfolio-management/

Not tax advice. Check with SARS.

Verified · Sources