SponsoredVisit FxPro
100 brokers measured in South Africabroker data checked 27.08.2026
Satrix logoSatrixSatrix Managers (RF) (Pty) Ltd (part of Sanlam Investment Group)

Satrix in South Africa — review, licence and costs

Written and checked by the Lantern Review editorial team · how we score ·  score recalculated 01.10.2026
yesAccepts residents of South AfricaOpened by Satrix (South Africa) (Pty) Ltd, FSCA licence 15658, register checked 11.07.2026

Score (4 of 6 axes scored)

3.452.0–5.0

shown, not ranked: no cost

  • Reviews25%0
  • Safety20%100
  • Track record10%100
  • Platforms10%15

Numbered by weight: axis 1 counts for most.

2 + 3 × 0.483 = 3.45 · axes on 0–100, total on 2.0–5.0

Key facts (4 facts)

Onboarding entity
Satrix Managers (RF) (Pty) Ltd (part of Sanlam Investment Group)
Founded
2000
Currencies
ZAR
Swap-free account
yes

Licence check

FSCA-authorised FSP No. 15658; registered/approved Manager of Collective Investment Schemes under CISCA. Not a JSE trading member (fund/ETF manager).
15658
Active on registerchecked 11.07.2026fsca.co.za
Open an account with Satrix

The broker's own website. Not a partner link — we earn nothing from it.

Screenshot of the Satrix website
Satrix's own site, captured for this review (06.10.2026)

Who actually onboards you

Entity that onboards South Africa residents
Satrix Managers (RF) (Pty) Ltd (part of Sanlam Investment Group)
Local standing
FSCA-regulated domestic CIS manager
Licence as the register states it
FSCA-authorised FSP No. 15658; registered/approved Manager of Collective Investment Schemes under CISCA. Not a JSE trading member (fund/ETF manager).
Leverage for this entity
No retail forex/leverage; index ETFs and unit trusts are unleveraged
The firm behind it
Pioneer of index investing in SA (launched first SA ETF, Satrix 40, in 2000). Owned by Sanlam Investment Group; Johannesburg-based. Major index/ETF provider on the JSE.
What we hold against it
No FSCA enforcement action identified - not verified at review

Leverage by entity

The licence belongs to the firm; a leverage figure belongs to one entity. Only the entity that onboards South African residents enters the score.

The entity that onboards youSatrix Managers (RF) (Pty) Ltd (part of Sanlam Investment Group)Local or offshore not stated in the source · FSCA licence

No retail forex/leverage; index ETFs and unit trusts are unleveraged

—ZA
South Africa median, local entities: 1:50 · 18 of 20 stated

Scale from 1:10 to 1:3000, logarithmic.

Client protection

  • Local entity onboards youFSCA-regulated domestic CIS manager
  • Regulator warning on filenone found

— means the broker does not state it in any source we captured. It is not read as “no protection” and it is not scored.

Accounts

Account types the broker names for this country: ZAR investment account, TFSA (tax-free), retirement annuity (RA), living annuity, offshore/feeder-fund exposure via ETFs (SatrixNOW platform). The figures below are the broker's own and do not differ by account in any source we captured.

Swap-free account terms

Terms read from the account page on 01.10.2026. The cap on open positions is not published.

Where Satrix sits in the South Africa base(103 brokers)

Round-turn cost, USD (80 of 103 priced)

14<5
5010
915
620
125
030
0>30

Median 7 USD · range 1-20 · 23 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Minimum deposit, USD (49 of 103 priced)

42<200
5400
1600
0800
1>800

Median 50 USD · range 0-1000 · 54 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Retail leverage (72 of 103 with a South Africa figure)

49<1k
142k
43k
44k
1>4k

Median 1:500 · range 20-5000 · 31 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Withdrawal time published (103 brokers)

6of 100
Published, hours6not published38Satrix is one of the 6

Payouts(2 methods)

MethodDeposit, hFee, USDMin, USD
EFT24050
instant EFT24050

Deposit and withdrawal methods (2 methods · 2 local)

EFT, instant EFT, debit order

  • EFTlocal
  • instant EFTlocal
Account currency
ZAR
Fee declared
2 of 2 methods
Withdrawal back to
the funding method

Where it does not serve(1 countries)

—

From the client agreement, clause 2.3. A country missing from a translated page is not read as “served”.

Platforms and markets(2 platforms)

The platform page on the Satrix website
The platform page on Satrix's own site, captured for this review (06.10.2026)
  • SatrixNOW
  • EasyEquities
ClassLeverage
SatrixNOW—ZA
EasyEquities—ZA

Pros and cons(3 for and 4 against, each tied to a figure on this page)

For
  • Locally authorised, licence 15658, read on 11.07.2026
  • Swap-free account available
  • Safety 100 of 100, its strongest of 4 scored axes
Against
  • Round-turn cost not priced: the pair of spread and commission is not published
  • Withdrawal time not published
  • Reviews 0 of 100, its weakest of 4 scored axes
  • Not scored on round-turn cost, payouts: the broker publishes no figure we could read

Alternatives in South Africa(6 of 103 scored in South Africa)

4
Scope Markets
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
9ZA
Min deposit, USD
10 groupZA
Leverage
1000 group
Rank in this country
#27
4.23
STARTRADER
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
4ZA
Min deposit, USD
50ZA
Leverage
1000ZA
Rank in this country
#13
4.36
Admirals
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
6ZA
Min deposit, USD
25ZA
Leverage
500ZA
Rank in this country
#6
4.26
FXCM
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
7ZA
Min deposit, USD
4ZA
Leverage
400ZA
Rank in this country
#11
4.37
ACY Securities
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
6ZA
Min deposit, USD
50 groupZA
Leverage
500 group
Rank in this country
#4
3.83
XTB
Licensed elsewhere
Round turn, USD
1ZA
Min deposit, USD
0ZA
Leverage
500ZA
Rank in this country
#38

"group" marks a figure the broker publishes for the group rather than for this country. It is shown because the broker states it, and it is not ranked, averaged or used to sort.

Methodology(6 axes · formula v1.0)

Score = 2 + 3 × weighted mean of six axes scored 0–100. Range 2.0–5.0. An axis without data drops out and the remaining weights are renormalised; it is never scored zero or estimated. Group-wide figures never enter a South Africa score. Full methodology

AxisWeightWhat is measuredSatrix
Reviews25%Rating, volume and recency on one public review platform0
Round-turn cost20%Round turn on 1 lot EURUSD: spread plus commission, against the country median—
Safety20%Local authorisation, the entity that onboards you, any regulator warning100
Payouts15%Published withdrawal time, fees and the methods available in the country—
Track record10%Years since the firm was founded, from its own filings100
Platforms10%Which trading platforms the broker confirms for this country15

— the broker does not publish this figure; it is not read as a zero and it is not scored.

FAQ

Does Satrix accept residents of South Africa?
Yes. FSCA-regulated domestic CIS manager Onboarding entity: Satrix Managers (RF) (Pty) Ltd (part of Sanlam Investment Group)
Is Satrix licensed to serve clients in South Africa?
FSCA-authorised FSP No. 15658; registered/approved Manager of Collective Investment Schemes under CISCA. Not a JSE trading member (fund/ETF manager). Checked on 11.07.2026.
Which trading platforms does Satrix support?
SatrixNOW, EasyEquities. Instruments: Index ETFs (JSE Top 40, S&P 500 feeder, MSCI World feeder, Shari'ah Top 40, etc.), unit trusts, offshore feeder funds, RA/retirement products
How can I withdraw money from Satrix in South Africa?
EFT, instant EFT, debit order
What account types does Satrix offer?
ZAR investment account, TFSA (tax-free), retirement annuity (RA), living annuity, offshore/feeder-fund exposure via ETFs (SatrixNOW platform)
Does Satrix offer a swap-free (Islamic) account?
Yes. Satrix offers a swap-free (Islamic) account to South Africa residents.

Taxes for a South African resident(1 rule)

  • SARS taxes residents on worldwide income.https://satrix.co.za/

Not tax advice. Check with SARS.

Verified · Sources